h1

Condolences, Fear and One of the Reasons I Left Boston

October 12, 2006


CNN is reporting that a small plane has crashed into a Manhattan apartment building, bringing back memories of what life on the East Coast was like five years ago and pushing my heart toward the families of the newly dead.

I’ll never forget the week of 9/11. I sat on my porch, eight miles south of Logan International Airport and was stunned by the lack of air traffic that normally permeated the sky above me. Every time I heard a jet overhead, I wondered if it was a plane about to crash into my home, ala United flight 93 in Pennsylvania. It was one of the few times in my life that I’ve ever been truly terrified. Congratulations, terrorists. Mission accomplished.

My heart and prayers go out to everyone who experiences a return of some of the fear we all felt after that horrible, horrible day because of this new, tragic news. My heart also goes out to the families of those who have died in what looks to be a freak accident. People (and animals) would never have to deal with tragedy, if I were in charge.

4:07 CST Update: I just learned that the pilot of the plane was Yankee’s pitcher Cory Lidle. What a sad day for New York. They have lost too many of their own.

Cory’s Fox Sports’ Page

3 comments

  1. This was indeed a shame and a shock to Australians. Some people at work actual thought it was a terrorist attack, but others corrected them. These people even knew about the Yankees pitcher. I was definetly suprised by the collective interest.


  2. I can easily see why people jumped to the conclusion that it was a terrorist attack. Living with terrorism changes the way people interact. I think we’re all more cautious, even to the point where some passengers recently tackled a man who jiggled the door handle of a plane in flight. Sounds like he deserved to get jumped, but I’m not sure that something like that would have happened ten years ago.


  3. brass door handles are very elegant looking that is why we always use them at home -,-



Leave a Reply

