h1

Books, Books, Books!

November 29, 2006

When I get a little money I buy books; and if any is left I buy food and clothes.” – Erasmus

Dear Diesel,

Oh, please, please, PUH-LEEEEEZE come visit my blog and tell me that you’ll read one of my books. I know you said that your list was not complete, but there are SO MANY GOOD BOOKS that you’re missing on your list! How do I choose just one? Have you read nothing by Hermann Hesse? No Frankenstein? No Dracula? No Phantom?!

Diesel, Diesel, Diesel. We simply must talk. The prodigy of not one but TWO English professoring parents? You must have rebelled or something against the atrocity of having two English professors in your home. (The stress might make me fold, as well, so don’t get me wrong.)

Man, oh, man. Thus Spoke Zarathustra, Siddhartha, A Separate Reality. (A Separate Peace, for that matter.) Oh, the list is endless, ENDLESS, my friend!

Damien, The Picture of Dorian Gray, and Madam Bovary are also favorites.

Anna Karenina. Tragic. Long and tragic. (And all the superfluous stuff about her sister is just ridiculous).

The Scarlet Letter. Tragic. As an adult, I finally get it.

BUT *she shrieks waving her hands in the air* for the purposes of this exercise, the winner must be . . . . drum roll, please . . . dum, dum, dum, duuuuum . . .

Nietzsche!

Only, don’t buy the $65 version. Go on half.com and buy it used for $2.50!

Happy reading! Please, please tell me you haven’t already read it. Hesse is next!

Respectfully submitted,

Angela, she who holds exactly 1/2 of a philosophy degree (the upper half — I can’t tell you squat about Plato or Locke.)

2 comments

  1. Angela – First, thanks for your prompt and witty response! 🙂

    Like I said, that’s not a complete list of what I’ve read, but it’s true that there’s a lot of good stuff out there I haven’t. I’ve been a slave to my job for most of the past 11 years, and before that I was just a dumb kid who read mostly sci fi.

    I know I’ve read parts of Zarathustra, but probably not all of it. I may opt for Hesse if no one else suggests it, if that’s ok.


  2. i’ll have to borrow Zarathustra from the library to have a read. that and with the dozens of to-read books on my ever growing list. thanks for the recommendation.



Leave a Reply

