h1

Because life is just too damn short

December 8, 2006

We have a new tradition at my house, and it’s called: Baklava for Breakfast!

This new tradition makes me so happy that I can’t even begin to tell you how my insides light up at the thought of it.

Baklava, the once forbidden fruit — because who the hell in their right mind has the time to make baklava anyway? — is now available at Costco in a pretty little plastic tray for a mere $10.99. Pittance, I say. Pittance!!

And to think that I almost passed up this guilty pleasure because spending more than $4.99 on anything creates a mild panic in my nether regions. I now realize how foolish I was to second guess this purchase. Since the stuff lasts forever (it must be the combination of the honey and the cinnamon), it has been more than worth it.

Put coffee and baklava together, and I’m nearly as close to heaven as . . . well, none of your business, you naughty tarts. Suffice it to say that I didn’t marry my husband just because he’s a freaking genius and the most talented guitar player I’ve ever known and has these big brown incredible eyes that suck you in a keep you there and will not only sit and watch a chick flick willingly but will even tear up at the sappy parts!

I think I alluded to something like this with my mother once, who was horribly, horribly (I can not stress this enough) horrified that I would choose this man because A) he’s not Nazarene (gasp!) and 2) he has a son with a woman he wasn’t married to. Horror of horrors!

Yes, we are directly descended from the Puritans, and it totally and completely sucks. I bet they didn’t allow themselves Baklava for Breakfast!

My Sunday-school teaching mother’s response was something to the effect of “Well, life is more than just a big (insert another word for rooster).” In her defense, she might have said (insert nickname for a man named Richard). I’m still so horrified myself at the thought of those words coming out of my mother’s mouth that I can hardly write about it.

Ah, but back to baklava before this rapidly deteriorates. Like it hasn’t already?! Baklava, baklava, baklava. How do I love thee? Let me count the ways.

5 comments

  1. Hoy shit…

    I am digging that tradition.

    I’m digging it so much in fact that it’s about to become MY tradition as well. 😉

    Steve~


  2. We have a new tradition at my house, and it’s called: Baklava for Breakfast!

    That’s as far as I got.

    Now I’m waiting for my invitation.


  3. I have to say, that’s the first time I’ve ever been called a naughty tart. And all I did was wander in here and read a post about Baklava!


  4. If there is one thing us Turks have done right in the world it is produce baklava (Turkish delight & Fez hats).


  5. […] of us can be followers Quite possibly the best day of my life November 12th, 2007 Baklava is back on the shelves at […]



Leave a Reply

