h1

The next time I start to complain . . .

January 7, 2007

. . . please stop me. While there will always be people who have more than we do (and in this sense I mean a less complicated life with our children and their respective situations), there are definintely those who have less.

My heart hurts today for these two parents. I can only imagine what it must be like to lose a daughter altogether. My heart and thoughts go out to them today.

Bacharach Daughter Commits Suicide
Jan 5, 9:27 PM EST

The Associated Press

BEVERLY HILLS, Calif. — Nikki Bacharach, daughter of Burt Bacharach and Angie Dickinson, committed suicide, the songwriter and actress said in a statement Friday.

Nikki Bacharach, 40, suffered from Asperger’s Disorder, a form of autism. She killed herself Thursday night at her condo, said Linda Dozoretz, a spokeswoman for the family.

“She quietly and peacefully committed suicide to escape the ravages to her brain brought on by Asperger’s,” the statement said.

Born prematurely in 1966, Lea Nikki Bacharach studied geology at Cal Lutheran University, but could not pursue a career in the field because of poor eyesight.

“She loved kitties, and earthquakes, glacial calving, meteor showers, science, blue skies and sunsets, and Tahiti,” the statement said.

Nikki Bacharach was the only child of Burt Bacharach, 77, and Dickinson, 75, who were married from 1965 to 1981.

It was the second marriage for both Bacharach, the Oscar-winning composer of “Raindrops Keep Falling on My Head,” and “What the World Needs Now is Love,” and Dickinson, star of the film “Dress to Kill” and the TV show “Police Woman.”

6 comments

  1. This is such a tragedy. The family have set up a donation site to assist rescuing kitties as a way of reflecting her ethics and values.
    Best wishes


  2. McEwen ~ thank you for the information. It truly is a tragedy, and I’m amazed that they are able to even think about a donation site. I know that I would be absolutely numb. It sounds like a wonderful way to honor her. Best regards! ~ Angela


  3. Just awful. I can’t imagine anything worse.


  4. “the ravages to her brain brought on by Asperger’s”

    What does that mean, I wonder? As far as I know, Asperger’s is like a high-functioning sort of autism. It’s not a progressive disease, is it?

    “Glacial calving,” btw, “occurs when ice breaks off the face of a glacier and falls into the water.” I had to look it up.

    In any case, it’s a horrible thing to lose a child.


  5. Al & Orhan ~ I completely agree. Losing a child has to be one of the worst experiences anyone could go through, at any age. If I were God, I’d make sure that no one outlived their young.

    Diesel ~ I had a very similar thought in that I’d heard it once suggested that even Bill Gates had Asperger’s. (This could be entirely made up by my brain — ravaged simply by life, though, so don’t anyone go quoting me and following it up with “that stupid Angela.” That shit hurts my feelings.)

    That they would blame it on the Asperger’s was problematic to me from the beginning. Kind of like saying, if you’re a Hemingway, you’re likely to take your life. There’s more to it than that.

    You are the man, by the way, in that you would take the time to google glacial calving. I figured it was something having to do with glaciers and left it at that. Lazy, lazy, lazy, I am.

    My two cents on it is that Asperger’s creates a convenient PR spin for the family (and it’s truly none of our business anyway, so I don’t blame them in the least for wanting to spin it any way they like) but that having Asperger’s doesn’t lead most folks to contemplate suicide, which the story seems to suggest. I would think that there are always deeper issues when it comes to the decision to take a life, yours or anyone else’s.


  6. So terribly sad. I also had not read that Asberger’s had a high connection to suicide. It sounds like she had several problems which may have contributed to her deep emotional suffering.



Leave a Reply

