h1

Because everyone’s a critic

January 9, 2007

File this under Stupid Names for Businesses (with my apologies to the family if this is a family name). At seven, Babs is not yet politically correct, God bless her little critical soul, and she sees the world through less tainted eyes than mine.

The conversation went like this (shortly on the heels of the Remain Inn conversation):

Babs: There’s another stupid name, mom.

Me: (in typical fashion) Huh?

Babs: That building. Why would anyone want to go there?

Me: Where?

Babs: Shucks.

Me: I don’t know. Why do you think? (A question that has served me so very well over the years with her.)

Babs: I wouldn’t want to go to a place called Shucks, ’cause “shucks” is what you say when something goes wrong.

Me: Good point.

Genius, she is. Must have been all that Mozart I made her listen to.

7 comments

  1. It most likely is a family name, but that’s no excuse. There is a carpet cleaning compnay in our town called – and I swear I’m not making this up – “Coming Clean”!!


  2. Shucks, you made her listen to Mozart?? 🙂


  3. There was a Koff’s Pharmacy in Philly that always cracked me up as a kid.


  4. 🙂 keen…


  5. CSL ~ too much! That reminds me of all the hymns I used to sing about Jesus coming again. Woah. Too much information.

    Dan! I did. From the moment I found out I was pregnant until she started hating it at age five. She loves math! (And she’s good at it.) Hooray!

    Al ~ I love stuff like that. The world is a grand place sometimes.

    Magiceye ~ thanks for stopping by. Glad you found it funny. :o)

    Happy Tuesday, all!


  6. Still not as bad as a business called WTF though.


  7. Diesel ~ There is, NO LIE, a business called “Going Postal” up here. It’s like a Mail Boxes, Etc. I have to pass it on the way to my aunt’s house and I feel creepy every time I do. Something is definitely wrong about that.



Leave a Reply

