h1

Is it spring yet?

January 17, 2007

Brrrrrrrrr. Looks like it’s chilly all over folks (at least for those who are sharing my continent), so wherever you are, I hope that you are warm and toasty and enjoying all the good things life has to offer.

I decided the other day when I didn’t want to leave my warm bed to head to work that people should take a lesson from bears and spend the winter hibernating. Babs thinks it’s a great idea, and, as we are all learning, what she thinks matters, dammit.

(As a complete aside, you’ll hopefully get a chuckle to know that Shuck’s sold Jon the wrong battery for my car yesterday. Babs tactfully told us that that’s what we got for going to Shuck’s. It’s not like she didn’t warn us.)

One wonderful thing about winter, though, is that it contains my favorite holiday of the year. That’s right woodchuck-chuckers. Groundhog Day!

If anyone’s planning on heading up to Punxsutawney next month, please take pictures. I know it can’t be as fun as the movie, but it’s on the Things To Do Before I Die list that I’ve been working on.

Until I’m actually able to go to Punxsutawney, though, and since I won’t be skiing this year thanks to the Butterscotch horse that is sitting in my living room collecting dust, I will just dream of spring and wish that I could hibernate the way the bears do. They’re on to something, I tell ya.

Photo credit goes to gaposh617 on Flickr. Great stuff! Excellent pick-me-ups for winter.

13 comments

  1. Some friends of mine and I went to Punxsutawney for Groundhog Day last year. Great place, neat people, and that’s a fun little party they throw there once a year.

    We made a movie, and the trailer’s on my latest post at http://downtowner.blogspot.com.


  2. By the way, Angela, you may be closer to Punxsutawney than you think. The movie was filmed in Woodstock, Illinois.


  3. Hibernation would suit me fine. A nice littel coma to get me through until spring.


  4. Ah … “Groundhog Day” …

    La fille qui j’aimera
    Sera comme bon vin
    Qui se bonifiera
    Un peut chaque matin.


  5. Al ~ yet another reason I have to be jealous of you! :o) Also, I had NO idea that they didn’t film it in Punxsutawney. How inauthentic of them. (Is inauthentic a word?) I’ll have to go watch the clip. An entire movie? That rocks!

    CSL ~ come cave with me. We’ll eat like pigs/bears and then sleep for three months. Now THAT’S livin’!

    Dan ~ Nice. What more can I say than that? Leave it to you to come up with that one.

    That scene is definitely one of my favorites. (That and the scenes with Ned Ryerson, especially now that I’m in the insurance industry – gasp!)

    Bill Murray is just absolutely perfect in that role.

    I’m glad I wasn’t drinking coffee when I read your comment, I surely would have coffee all over the computer screen if I had.

    With love from this 18th century British literature major. xoxoxo


  6. it is cold and snowy here in ohio too and i don’t want to get out of my warm bet in the mornings too. I want to goto Punxsutawney, Groundhog day is a fun movie and I want to goto one of those fairs.

    sorry not to visit lately, been a little busy. been neglecting my blog a little too. i’ll be back to my routine pretty soon.


  7. Ned? Ned Ryerson! I’ve missed you so much.

    Where are you, Idaho or something? How cold is it there? Last night it rained here (CA Central Valley) and then froze. Nice.


  8. Foo! How good to see you! I’ll have to stop in and see what you’ve been up to, but YES, you have been missed! Al & Dan are doing their best to keep me company, but they just aren’t YOU, dangit. :o) Hugs from Idaho!

    So Diesel, do you *have* pet insurance? ‘Cause if you do, you could always use a little more. Am I right, or am I right, or am I right? Right, right, right.

    Ned cracks me up! Almost as much as you do!

    To answer your question, it’s freakin’ freezing up here. AHHHHHHH. About 18 on the average. 10 at night, 20 something during the day. Too cold!

    I hope your pipes are okay! Warm water is important. Oh, wait, it’s Thursday. There’s no hot water on Thursday. Silly me.


  9. Angela – LOL! You’ve seen that movie way too many times.


  10. Diesel ~ yes, yes I have watched it. Over and over and over. The wonderful irony of rewatching a movie about reliving a day over and over is part of the charm, I’m sure. That and the countless number of fabulous lines. “For your information, Hairdo, I have a major network interested in me.”

    “Yeah, that would be the food shopping network.”

    —————

    “People like it, it’s nice.”

    “People like bloodsausage. People are morons.”

    “I like bloodsausage.”

    xoxoxo


  11. Oh, and another one of my favorites:

    “Did you sleep well, Mr. Conners?”

    “I slept alone, Mrs. Lancaster.”


  12. Sorry to see that you’re missing out on skiing and Butterscotch is collecting dust!

    One of these days I might figure out how to post a photo of the groundhog that visited our tiny backyard garden. DH and I have a soft spot for them, and also loved the movie.

    A year or two ago I read that male groundhogs visit females’ dens for just-friendly sleepovers before they all choose their mates. No kidding, I really did read that. DH and I thought it was kinda sweet.


  13. Hazy! That is sweet! How adorable. I used to do something very similar. :o) Hope you’re having a good winter and that spring comes to your house early! xoxoxo



Leave a Reply

