h1

Because, apparently, transformation is available for everyone, even cartoon characters

March 14, 2007

smurfette.jpg

First of all, Papa Smurf didn’t create Smurfette. Gargamel did. She was sent in as Gargamel’s evil spy with the intention of destroying the Smurf village, but the overwhelming goodness of the Smurf way of life transformed her.

-Donnie, discounting a Smurf sexual fantasy proposed by a friend.
Donnie Darko Quotes

And to think that I had never even questioned the origins of Smurfette (or heard of Donnie Darko, for that matter) before reading this! Where have I been? Living under a rock?! Oy! (And yes, I was Yiddish in a former life. That or Mike Myers’ hold on me is just too strong to break.)

5 comments

  1. I have always aspired to be a bright blue smurfette! lol Have a wonderful day!


  2. First of all, Papa Smurf didn’t create Smurfette. Gargamel did. She was sent in as Gargamel’s evil spy with the intention of destroying the Smurf village, but the overwhelming goodness of the Smurf way of life transformed her.

    Now this is just a bald-faced lie (what the hell is a bald-faced lie anyway? What’s a bald face for that matter?). Yes Gargamel created the Smurfette, but it was NOT with the intention of destroying the Smurf village. She wanted to overtake the Smurf village and turn all of the smurfs into her sexual slaves. The details get a bit sketchy at that point since the detailed police reports of lewdness and such have been discounted my historians.


  3. Dari ~ you would make a BEA-U-TI-FUL Smurfette! The funny thing was, that in looking for this photo, I came across all kinds of women who had tried the Smurfette image on. You would blow them all away, I’m sure! xoxoxo

    Dan ~ is it bald-faced? If so, I’ve been saying it wrong all these years! Of course, I don’t really know what a bold-faced lie is either. Unless it’s the opposite of a frightened-faced lie. And, if I’m remembering correctly, you are absolutely right about Smurfette’s slave idea. Of course, I’m not particularly into smurfs, per se, so it doesn’t really do much for me, but que sera sera. ;o) xoxoxo


  4. I never thought about the Smurfette’s origin, but I did wonder what it was like for her being the only female in the village, and how she avoided being pregnant all the time.

    I looked the bald-faced/bold-faced lie thing. You can find arguments for both being the correct one (the first having to do with speaking a lie brashly with your face plainly seen, the second with a lie being printed in bold-face type. But the OED only lists bare-faced (a lie told with no mask to cover you). So I’d say you can get by with any of them. There’s your little etymology lesson for the day, with my compliments.


  5. Hi CSL! Now that is just plain AWESOME! You know how to get to this English major’s heart. {{standing up and applauding}} Thank you! You rock!



Leave a Reply

