h1

Doing MUCH better and time for banshee!

April 4, 2007

So I have this little post rolling around in my head all about what I learned from last week’s down-in-the-dumps experience, complete with great revelations and research studies, but it’s going to have to wait. You know why? TAXES. That’s why!

To discuss my tax situation with you would be to bring nearly unbearable shame upon myself and my loved ones (okay, so that’s a bit of an exaggeration, but we’re talking ’04, ’05 AND ’06 here, people). Don’t ask.

Apparently, if they owe YOU money, it’s not such a big deal. Good with money I am not. So it’s a lucky thing that WordPress is FREE (my favorite word). I’m an English major, remember? English major. Money. Not a good combination.

I AM smart enough, however, to have a little bit socked away in a 401k or 503c or something like that. It’s with the Teacher People. And it’s doing okay, because I checked the “get aggressive ’cause I’m young-ish” box when I signed up. (I’m not totally stupid fiscally. Hush, Peanut Gallery!)

But if I’m going to put this kind of time into a post, I should just go ahead and talk about how I got my mojo back, BUT, since it’s late and I still have miles to go before I sleep, I will leave you now with the lovely Screaming Banshee of Hallmark e-card fame.

One word of warning: Keep the volume low if you don’t want to wake the kids. I am unfortunately relating to poor Banshee’s situation more than I would like to at the moment.

Happy week before tax week, everyone! My fondest wish for you is that you already have your big, fat refund in your hot little hands and will think of me as you’re relaxing on your Hawaiian vacation sipping mojitos.

banshee2.jpg

Click here to see the card, and remember that I warned you about the volume. She/he is really screaming in this one. LOL. She/he. Like Pat. Pat makes me laugh.

And my sincere thanks to everyone for caring about my little blue moments last week. As fun as we all try to make this life, it’s true that stresses show up every once in a while. Sometimes they wear odd masks or speak to deeper issues or truthfully just get over-analyzed. I have been guilty of all three of those things more often than I care to remember.

But I do promise to share with you my true story about realizing that one particular research study seems to apply to me more than most. Of course, that will have to be after I get done doing my taxes, which — at this rate — will take me well into 2008. AAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHH!

7 comments

  1. Yep. I was an English major too. And I don’t remember Keats or Shelley writing about money. I totally understand!


  2. Ah, I still haven’t done my taxes! Fuck me. (Don’t worry, I’m sure the IRS will).


  3. Big fat tax refund! Ha! Ha ha ha! Ha ha ha ha ha ha! (What you are hearing there is the maniacal how-much-more-can-they-take-from-me laughter of the self-employed.)


  4. Glad you’re feeling better, Angela. I’m getting the mother-of-all refunds this year (thanks to the convergence of the planets and my wife’s dilligence). I’ve never been so excited about tax day.


  5. Iz, sisters at heart. I knew it! I hope your weekend is a wonderful one!

    Snay ~ I laughed so hard at that (but was groaning along with you, as well). This is definitely not my favorite week of the year!

    CSL ~ Arg. Self employment TOTALLY sucks! I remember making three thousand dollars one year as a freelance writer and having about $2400 taken out in tax. (Okay, so I’m exaggerating, but not very much.) Here’s a sympathetic hug for your tax pain. It’s a killer.

    Diesel ~ SWEET! Does that mean that you’re taking us all out for dinner. I think Dallas is the mid-point for most of us. (Maybe Nowhere, Nebraska.) Hey, maybe Warren Buffet would take us out. Now *there’s* a plan. Enjoy your refund!! (While you can. Muwhahahahahahahaha.)


  6. I’m sure they’ll get me back next year. But for now it’s caption contest time again!


  7. I don’t mind you discussing taxes because I just finished mine. Had I read this post a few days earlier … that’s another story!

    Happy Easter, Passover and everything else sweet Ang! Hugs and kisses as well!



Leave a Reply

