h1

Attitude

April 10, 2007

Attitude

butterfly2.jpg

There once was a woman who woke up one morning,
Looked in the mirror,
And noticed she had only three hairs on her head.

“Well,” she said, “I think I’ll braid my hair today.”

So she did.

And she had a wonderful day.

yellow-bird.jpg

The next day she woke up,
Looked in the mirror
And saw that she had only two hairs on her head.

“Hmmm,” she said,
“I think I’ll part my hair down the middle today.”

So she did.

And she had a grand day.

butterfly3.jpg

The next day she woke up,
Looked in the mirror
And noticed that she had only one hair on her head.

“Well,” she said,
“today I’m going to wear my hair in a pony tail.”

So she did.

And she had a fun, fun day.

flower3.jpg

The next day she woke up,
Looked in the mirror and noticed that there wasn’t a single hair on her head.

“YAY!” she exclaimed.

“I don’t have to fix my hair today!”

flower6.jpg

Attitude is everything.

Be kinder than necessary,

For everyone you meet is fighting some kind of battle.

Live simply,

Love generously,

Care deeply,

Speak kindly,

Leave the rest to God.

With love,

Me

flower8.jpg

Photo credit goes to my dear and loving husband’s cousin Carol, who knows her stuff when it comes to taking beautiful pictures, and the text is from an e-mail I received from the lovely, amazing, multi-talented and ever cheerful Fran. I will always be grateful for the time she was in my life. Here’s to you both! (if you ever read this) Thank you for sharing your gifts with me!

12 comments

  1. And thanks to YOU for combining their gifts in a beautiful way that just gave me a lift!


  2. Hazy, you are so, so welcome. You deserve days filled with roses and sunshine and if I could give them all to you with bows to tie them up with, I would. You are a gem, and I truly love you. May every day bring you something as good as you deserve! xoxoxoxoxo


  3. Did you make that up? That’s pretty clever.

    Glad you’re keeping your positive attitude. Maybe I’ll photoshop you with only 3 hairs and see what you look like. 😉


  4. Diesel, I’d love to be able to take credit for that, but I can’t unfortunately. It was sent to me in an e-mail. Photoshopping me would be AWESOME! I would definitely have to post it with a link. Jon thinks I look like some bald Star Trek chick, so it would be interesting to see if I really do.


  5. Wow! Beautiful Ang. This reminds me of a Zen parable.

    There once was a Farmer. One day the farmer’s only horse broke out of the corral and ran away. The farmer’s neighbors all hearing of the horse running away, came to the Farmer’s house to view the corral. As they stood there, the neighbors all said “Oh what bad luck!” The farmer replied ‘maybe.’

    About a week later, the horse returned bringing with it a whole herd of wild horses which the Farmer and his son quickly corralled. The neighbors hearing of the corralling of the horses came to see for themselves. As they stood there looking at the corral filled with horses, the neighbors said “Oh what good luck!” The farmer replied ‘maybe.’

    A couple of weeks later, the farmer’s son’s leg was badly broken when he was thrown from a horse he was trying to break. A few days later the broken leg became infected and the son became delirious with fever. The neighbors all hearing of the incident, came to see the son. As they stood there, the neighbors said “oh what bad luck.” The farmer replied ‘maybe.’

    At that same time in China, there was a war going on between two rival Warlords. The Warlord of the farmer’s village was involved in this war. In need of more soldiers, he sent one of his captains to the village to conscript young men to fight in the war. When the captain came to take the Farmer’s son he found a young man with a broken leg who was delirious with fever. Knowing there was no way the son could fight, the captain left him there. A few days later, the son’s fever broke. The neighbors hearing of the son’s not being taken to fight in the war and of his return to good health all came to see him. As they stood there, each one stated “oh what good luck!” The farmer replied ‘maybe.’

    And the story continues … as life continues.


  6. What a lovely post – and you’re absolutely right. I hope one day I can be like that lady (the attitude, not the baldness!)


  7. Dan, thank you so much for sharing that parable. I love parables! (For the most part.) 😉 But that’s such a good one. Jon and I have been walking around quoting Eckhart’s “It is what it is,” and you know what? It’s so damn helpful! Cheers to you, my friend.

    Lonie, I hope the same for me, too, and am always tempted to be sad by how far I am from it. Maybe the realization is half the battle as they say. But to have that kind of attitude every morning? Wow. That would be awesome! (Maybe tomorrow.) xoxoxoxo


  8. Lovely flowers and such a great attitude. Do you remember that Cat Stevens song where he runs through various possible losses and their upside? (“if i ever lose my eyes …then I won’t have to cry no more.”) Reminds me of that, somehow.


  9. CSL ~ have I told you how much I love the fact that nearly everything reminds you of a song. I just think that is fabulous! And I can completely see the correlation. “If I ever lose my hair . . . ” Have a great one!


  10. I’m not sure I even realized that, but you’re right – nearly everything does remind me of a song! Guess tht’s why I include lyrics so often. I’m still waiting to see that photoshoped photo of you with three hairs.


  11. CS, Me too! I’m hopeful that Diesel can do it. I also hope he puts a pretty bow at the top — kind of like I did with Babs when she was 8 months old and had just about three hairs herself. I do love the lyrical part of you. Music is such an incredible avenue.


  12. […] – they say happiness is all about choosing it. (Like the attitude story about the lady and her hair – three, two, one strands.) That nothing else really matters – or has to make a difference. On one […]



Leave a Reply

