h1

just thinking outloud

April 19, 2007

“The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.”

EDMUND BURKE

As one woman with no political power, no money and no real connections, how do I do something? And which cause do I choose to tackle in a world with so much pain and suffering? I do not wish to be part of the reason evil triumphs. I do not wish to add pain and suffering to the world. But there is so much hurt and pain everywhere I turn that I hardly know where to begin. Sending checks to Unicef, recycling and donating clothes to charity suddenly doesn’t seem like enough. Probably because it isn’t. But how to begin . . .

8 comments

  1. You can begin it with a smile.
    It is the most inexpensive way to make others feel good & also happy .
    A few kind words are also helpful.
    BTWN, you have ALREADY done a good job, praising someone somewhere πŸ™‚
    Thanks!


  2. I think it starts by being kind to people around you. I am convinced that money and political power are no match for millions of small acts of kindness.

    Kudos for the Burke quote, btw. A conservative hero of mine. πŸ™‚


  3. Mona,

    Thanks for your kind words. I hope all is well with you!

    Diesel,

    Yes. It just doesn’t seem to really scratch the surface, though. You’re so welcome for the Burke quote. I was actually going to quote the fellow you mentioned (Vonnegut), but his quote on evil wasn’t the one I was looking for. It was only SEMI-evil. I was looking for the full meal deal. Hope your weekend is a good one!


  4. I’m with Diesel on this. Not that money and power can’t lead to a lot of change, but all those tiny acts are important in a way that goes beyond a mere aditive effect. hey build on each other, rippling wider. And anyone person can only do so much, so you just have to pick things and do them, knowing that there are other things you must leave undone. It’s imperfect, to be sure, but it’s what you can do. (How’s that for vague? But I mean every word of it.)


  5. CS, too funny! (“vague, but I mean every word of it.”)

    It goes back to this balancing act that I’ve been doing. I used to do so much more that gave me that “helper’s high” that sociologists talk about. I felt like I was making a difference in the community and world around me (even if in only small ways). Since having children, my life has become this little world that doesn’t include what it used to include. I struggle with that, even though I feel like I’ve had to make a choice and that this is the better one. I miss feeling useful, even though I am probably more useful now than I ever was. How’s THAT for vague? πŸ˜‰


  6. Right, because since having children you also have the opportunity to have a different kind of profound influence.


  7. Fell upon here by accident…I was going to say the same thing as Mona. Smiles can change even the worst of attitudes! The next time you’re driving and someone cuts you off or honks at you…smile and blow them a kiss! They’ll be so confused, they won’t even realized you just helped them to calm down. And they just might treat everyone else a little better that day because of it!


  8. Hi Lisa ~ I’m so glad you found this little place. I absolutely agree with you. Attitude is just about everything. Now, how to get that attitude realigned . . . ? πŸ™‚ Thanks for coming by!



Leave a Reply

