h1

What a novel idea

July 5, 2007

Someone asked me today what my agenda for my own life was.

Huh. Who woulda thunk it? Such a crazy, wonderful, totally welcome question.

I think I may actually end up getting a life after all.

Mr. or Ms. Anonymous, thank you, from the bottom of my heart, for telling me to get a life last year when I was all wound up about a couple of someones in my life who can be beyond difficult to deal with.

At the time I was a bit miffed because I thought you an insensitive ass.

Now I am grateful.

Funny how things work out that way.

5 comments

  1. I had an anonymous commenter tell me to get a life last year too. It really irked me that I could be judged on one post of thousands. Each post details a different part of my life. My thought was, ‘Well, gee, this IS my life…”


  2. What does that mean “get a life” anyway? Doesn’t it mean that we should start doing what THEY think is important? I think it’s impossible to NOT have a life. After all, we’re living. And we’re all on different paths. Ang has a tao, a path. Dan has a tao, a path. Why should Dan tell Ang to get on his path. Well, because it’s fun to walk with Ang, but that’s another story. 🙂

    Hugs Ang!


  3. Marlayna, I was stunned at how personally I took those comments last year. It was really painful. And I taught junior high, for God’s sake. You’d think I would have grown a thicker skin! I’ve just decided that some people like to drop that phrase when they really don’t even understand what’s going on. More in a “I feel angry inside and you don’t seem to have it altogether, so I’m going to drop a ‘Get a Life’ on you and make myself feel better. Funny how it always seems to backfire. Thanks for being along for the ride.

    Dan! I just love it every time you show up on this blog. You brighten my day, my friend. I love your path ideas. And I would love to go for a walk with you and Laura. We could bring Smokey. It would be fun. I’ll reference my above comment as to why someone would tell another person to get a life, but I think it has more to do with the speaker and whatever negative emotions they are experiencing and less to do with the original person actually “getting a life.” As Marlayna said, we all already have a life. It’s not like we can really go down to the supermarket and buy another one. 😉 Just have to cre-ate one with joy, love, meaning and value. That should be a snap, huh? xoxoxo


  4. I tell you, there seem to be people who float around in the blogosphere lookng for people to criticize and feel superior to all from the saftey of anonymity. Are they putting themselves out there? No. It’s cowardly. And silly, because you know you very much have a life and the ideas you explore in the blog are part of it. When was this? I have a vague memory of reading a comment in your blog that was quite critical when you were talking about not being sure about hat you wanted out of life or how to have a more fulfilling life or something along those lines, and thinking at the tme that the comenter was just being mean-spirited. But I don’t think I was reading a full year ago.


  5. Big hugs to you, C, for saying this. Bless you. I’m tired of mean-spiritedness. I don’t think the comment was made quite a year ago. I haven’t even been around quite that long. It was closer to Christmas, I think. Having this blog (and now having a myspace account) has helped me understand a bit better how celebs must feel when they get ripped in the tabloids. Obviously, I can’t really understand when it’s such a minor thing, but all this meanness in the world . . . very sad. I don’t even know what to say about it, but I hope that I will contribute less to it. Maybe I need to rethink what I say about my ex, even in a place as anonymous as myspace.



Leave a Reply

