h1

Tree hugging (aka Teaching Children Well)

August 24, 2007

I did it.

angtreehugger.jpg

So they wanted to, too.

kidstree.jpg

How I love them.

(And how I am humbly reminded how closely they watch us.)


Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young

Teach Your Children (Graham Nash)


You who are on the road
Must have a code that you can live by
And so become yourself
Because the past is just a good bye.

Teach your children well,
Their father’s hell did slowly go by,
And feed them on your dreams
The one they picked, the one you’ll know by.

Don’t you ever ask them why, if they told you, you would cry,
So just look at them and sigh and know they love you.

And you, of tender years,
Can’t know the fears that your elders grew by,
And so please help them with your youth,
They seek the truth before they can die.

Teach your parents well,
Their children’s hell will slowly go by,
And feed them on your dreams
The one they picked, the one you’ll know by.

Don’t you ever ask them why, if they told you, you would cry,
So just look at them and sigh and know they love you.

6 comments

  1. Good lyrics, but that is the wussiest, most de-testicled song on earth. 🙂

    Then again, I do prefer Mary Chapin Carpenter’s version of “The Bug” to Mark Knopfler’s original.


  2. I LOVE that song Ang. Look at you, you crazy tree hugger. I’m so jealous! I want to be out there with you hugging that tree! And then hugging you!


  3. Check out that big mongo tree!!! I love it!


  4. Hi Jim! Too funny. I don’t think I’ve ever heard the word “de-testicled” before. The sad thing is that now I’m hoping to have the opportunity to use it soon. Thanks for stopping by!

    Dan! I thought you might like the tree shot. Hugging trees is vastly underrated, and something I definitely need to do more often. And, as you can see, I brought my best hiking shoes along for the trip. Hugs!

    Pool ~ The redwoods are AMAZING. I highly recommend them to anyone. Just remember to bring jackets. It’s fricken freezing there.


  5. One of my favorite CSN&Y songs. Thank you.


  6. Ian ~ I’m just so glad that you’re stopping by. Thank you for being here in this little space. Every time I see your name, I smile, so thank *you* for your presence.



Leave a Reply

