h1

Taking my own advice

September 8, 2007

The picture at the top of this blog was taken at Lagoon Amusement Park last year. It was a beautiful fall day, and Babs and I enjoyed ourselves immensely.

A few months ago, my best girlfriend and I were talking and she said: “You know what I love about you, Ang? I love that you never take your own advice.”

You know what? She has a good point, which is why she’s been one of my cherished friends for close to 25 years.

So today we’re off to the amusement park, because we’ve put fun on hold for too long and just stayed holed up in our house nursing our wounds. Since we’re on it, we might as well enjoy the ride.

coaster.jpg

There are certain things in this world I just can’t fix. Of course, there are also many ways I can make a difference. But I realize that if my soul is starved that I’m not going to be making much of a difference for anyone.

Here’s wishing you a weekend of simple pleasures. If you can, try to enjoy the ride. It’s the only one we’ve got — this time around, anyway.

turn-century.jpg

10 comments

  1. Ang, this is a wonderful idea. Call it “adrenaline therapy.” Eat way too much cotton candy, slurp down way too many SnoCones, ogle way too many attractive men, laugh yourselves sick … and take pictures at every step along the way. I hope you have a great day, my friend.


  2. For sure – we must feed the soul – and take every opportunity for happiness we can.
    It’s all part of the ride!
    Hope you had a great time.


  3. Start by having some chocolate.


  4. Hi Jim ~ Thank you for your good wishes! We moped a bit on the way down because three just isn’t four, but putting life on hold just hasn’t helped any of us. I appreciate the advice! We’ve been laughing quite a bit, which has been wonderful and Babs and Jon are watching Jurassic Park 3 right now. It’s a wonderful life. Park tomorrow, and I’ll try to slurp down as many sno cones as I can.

    Hi Beth! Isn’t that the truth? Every day. That’s what I’m learning. That it’s not just a once-a-year kind of thing but that the soul needs to be constantly tended — like my flowers. A day without water, and they’re wilting. I don’t fault them for that. I just water them. Hope you’re having a great weekend!

    Thanks, Reesepie! Fabulous advice! I found a quote on continuous small treats being one of the secrets to a happy life a couple of months ago, and I realize that while pleasure and contentment are two different emotions that nothing beats a treat — big or small. Cheers!


  5. A little late but hope you enjoyed yourselves. Didn’t brave the roller coaster? 😉


  6. Sometimes we just need to be kids again!
    Hope you had fun!


  7. Hi Foo ~ Thanks so much for your good wishes. We had a nice time. The roller coasters were AWESOME.

    Thanks, Dawn. We definitely needed a bit of a time out. Hope you’re doing well!


  8. “If you can, try to enjoy the ride. It’s the only one we’ve got — this time around, anyway.”

    Ang, you are so right! God I love you! 🙂 And this is the exact same conclusion Woody Allen comes to at the end of “Hannah & Her Sisters” after years of searching for God. You may as well just sit back and enjoy the ride! Hugs Ang.


  9. My hat is off to you for riding the roller coaster. When my wife rides the roller coaster I stay firmly planted on the ground and hold her purse, but in a very macho way.


  10. Hi Dan! Another movie for my netflix queue? Awesome! Hugs back atchya!

    Hi Frogster ~ Thanks so much for visiting. I rode most of these on my own as Jon and I seem to have differing ideas of what is “punishing,” in his words. I love steel; he loves wood. Que sera sera, I say!



Leave a Reply

