h1

Vet Medicine 101

September 14, 2007

From an e-mail that’s making the rounds:

First-year students at Texas A&M’s Vet School were receiving their first anatomy class, with a real dead cow. They all gathered around the surgery table with the body covered with a white sheet.

The professor started the class by telling them, “In vet medicine it is necessary to have two important qualities as a doctor: The first is that you not be disgusted by anything involving the animal body.”

The professor then pulled back the sheet, stuck his finger in the butt of the dead cow, withdrew it and stuck it in his mouth.

“Go ahead and do the same thing,” he told his students. The students freaked out and hesitated for several minutes.

Eventually they took turns sticking a finger in the anal opening of the dead cow and sucking on it.

When everyone finished, the professor looked at them and said, “The second most important quality to have as a doctor is observation. I stuck in my middle finger and sucked on my index finger. Now learn to pay attention.”

9 comments

  1. Why do I think that’s funny? I don’t know. But I do.


  2. I love that story. Love it. We do stuff like that at work to customers all the time…


  3. Thank God my kid just started his first year of college in Computer Information Tecnology, not vet school.
    V.


  4. only at A&M! hahahahahhahaha


  5. You are so bad, Ang, and that is why you are at the absolute top tier of my fellow blogger list. Nice to be in contact again here in Salem OR. Heading off tomorrow for Bellingham, and then home the following morning. Sigh! End of vacation.


  6. just gotta love those aggie jokes.


  7. This reminds me of the prank that often gets played on first-time employees at Yellowstone (including me, 10 years ago) … apparently elk droppings looks exactly like Milk Duds. So beware the seemingly friendly veteran worker who offers you a handful of Milk Duds ….


  8. Jim ~ I think it’s hilarious. Of course, it would be a hell of a lot harder to laugh if I had been one of those students. šŸ˜‰

    Reesepie ~ That’s awesome. So funny!

    V. ~ A good thing! I wish I were savvy enough to be a CIS major. No such luck for me, though!

    Pool ~ šŸ™‚

    Hi Ian! Thank you! That’s the best compliment I’ve received all week! Have a good and safe trip home. I do wish vacations could last longer than they do but hope you had a wonderful trip!


  9. Seventh Sister ~ This was a great one. I haven’t been to involved in the rivalry, but was glad that I was copied in on this joke!

    Jim ~ Eeewwww. I’ll definitely make a note of that. My dad actually worked at Yellowstone. I’ll have to ask him if they were doing that back then. I think you probably missed him by a few years. šŸ™‚



Leave a Reply

