h1

I so needed this laugh

September 19, 2007

With a sick husband begging me to come home at 2:30, missed deadlines, a manic marketer from back east who is taking some pill I’m not, and a call home from school about a daughter who won’t stop talking and hit the three-strikes-and-I-call-your-parents jackpot, I was grateful for this laugh.

(To Babs’ credit, she was also selected by her classmates as “Most Friendly” today, which kind of balances it all out, but as her teacher said — fortunately with a sense of humor — “That’s a big part of the problem.”)

Unfortunately, I now have to think about what BIG thing I’m going to take away from her since I told her that if I got a call home, that would be the consequence — the loss of something important. How I hate accountability!

For these reasons I was grateful for the respite when I stumbled on this T-shirt and post. If this isn’t immediately funny to you, you either need to 1) check to see if you’re still breathing, or 2) click through to watch the video linked in the post.

The rumor was that the fellow did it purposefully because he enjoys his You Tube fame. You have no idea how much I want to buy this T-shirt. Oh, and happy Talk Like A Pirate Day, Matey! ARRRRR!

taztshirt.jpg

Read the post here from Bob McCarty about the shirt, its origins and how you can get one, too!

14 comments

  1. Angela, the linguistic precisionist in you should be offended by this T-shirt:

    1) It wrongly promotes the use of a proper noun as a verb;

    2) It runs the risk of improperly identifying the stun-gun instrument in question. “Taser” is a brand name of one kind of stun device; it is NOT a generic synonym for all stun devices;

    3) It’s highly unlikely that everybody who reads this shirt and wields a stun device under any of several brand names would be the shirt-wearer’s “brother.” (Let alone his “bro,” which is a term pretentious co-opted by irritating white people from ethnic black culture.)

    4) All three other rules aside, the term would be “Tase,” not “Taze,” as the brand name in question is not “Tazer.”


  2. Hi Jim! But you see, this is *just* the kind of thing that I need to overcome my desire for linguistic precision! 🙂 Perfection is sooooo overrated, and I am beyond tired of trying to be close to perfect and the time it takes me. I think I may be dropping out and leaving the race to the rest of you. 😉


  3. p.s. Did you watch the video? It probably isn’t funny at all if you haven’t seen it. Even then, this one may just have to go down on record as one more thing that makes me weird.


  4. I would like one that reads “Pierce me not with thine elven blade, thane of Gondor!”

    (Does that meet your standards, o grammar beyotch?)


  5. Hehehehee!!! Oh. My. Gosh. (See, how I edit for you, my friend?) Thank you for my SECOND belly laugh of the day! That was absolutely fabulous. And I don’t mind saying so. Now, off to find the T-shirt that reads “Grammar Beyotch.” Marvelous. But you already know I think that!


  6. Lurvely! Guess I needed that post too!


  7. Watched the video – doing it on purpose for YouTube fame? Even so….

    Consequences for you daughter and a leap to a stun gun! Don’t go there!!!


  8. I have a sudden urge to buy a tazer.


  9. Angela,

    Thanks for highlighting my t-shirt design! Glad it gave you a good laugh!

    I’m guessing you might also like three other designs and the fictitious stories behind them:

    http://www.cafepress.com/bobmccarty/1713644

    http://www.cafepress.com/bobmccarty/2265035

    http://www.cafepress.com/bobmccarty/2331438

    Check ’em out, and let me know. Thanks again!

    — Bob McCarty at Bob McCarty Writes™ (www.BobMcCarty.com)


  10. Iz ~ We need more laughter, don’t we? I just don’t believe that anyone can ever really get enough. Thinking of you and hoping you are doing really, really well.

    Beth ~ Totally! I think this guy watched the MTV show “Jackass” one too many times. Unfortunately, he doesn’t have their originality.

    Pool ~ You’d be in good company! If someone ran at me like that screaming “Don’t tase me,” you know I’d tase him in a second if I had my taser handy . . . Now where’d I put that thing?

    Bob! You’re so welcome. Happy to highlight your post. I really needed a belly laugh, and that post and T-shirt gave it to me. Thank you! Best wishes! Hope you sell lots of shirts!


  11. I missed ‘Talk like a Pirate Day’ and I’m bitter about that since I do a splendid Robert Newton as Long John Silver. And Newton is, of course, the patron saint of Talk Like a Pirate Day. Thank you, dear heart, for the chuckles. Anyway, relatedly, I made my deadline and now I’m waiting to hear back from them. Why wasn’t I born a millionaire? That’s what I want to know, then I wouldn’t have to worry about this stuff.


  12. I saw that video the other day on one of the news channels. I have to say, that line immediately jumped out at me as comedy.
    I’m glad someone had the brilliant idea to put it on a shirt.


  13. Ian ~ You are ever so welcome. I think you should tape your pirate voice and put it on your blog! 🙂 I, too, wish to not be shackled to work because I need it. Someday, hopefully.

    ACG ~ The shirt gave me such a laugh — much more so than the actual video. I don’t know why I struck me as being so funny, but it did. Cheers!


  14. Angela,

    Thanks in part to the phenomena that is the Don’t Taze Me, Bro!™ line of t-shirts and other merchandise (see these posts for all the details), this blogger will appear on the nationally-syndicated The Mancow Show (www.mancow.com) Friday at 6:10 a.m. Central.

    The Mancow Show is hosted by Erich “Mancow” Muller (right), a longtime Chicago radio chart-topper and frequent guest on Fox News Channel’s Fox and Friends show. Broadcast live from Chicago, The Mancow Show airs on more than 30 radio stations and via the internet, reaching 8-10 million listeners daily with a unique mix of news, humor, commentary and entertainment.

    Be sure to wake up early and tune in to The Mancow Show Friday morning at 6:10 a.m. Central.

    Bob



Leave a Reply

