h1

And now, a note from our sponsor

September 25, 2007

As a courtesy reminder, the audience should be informed that spinning around in circles does not necessarily (or even usually) mean that one is making progress — even if the pace of the spinning is increased or a ton of dust is created in the process. I will be grabbing my dust pan now. Had this been an actual emergency, you would have received further instructions. Cheers, kids. If I start asking for Advil and Wild Turkey, you’ll know it’s been as wild a week this week as it was last. “Serenity now!”

15 comments

  1. Um … so what are you saying?


  2. I’ve been meaning to tell you I LOVE the Serenity Now bit! I can hear it in my head clear as day! Serenity NOW! Serenity NOW!


  3. Hi, Jim! I’m trying to say that I’m feeling frustrated with the way certain things are happening in my life to which I will not refer outright less I end up dooced. πŸ™‚ My life should not be the “Airplane” movie over and over again.

    Steve McCroskey: Johnny, what can you make out of this?
    [Hands him the weather briefing]
    Johnny: This? Why, I can make a hat or a brooch or a pterodactyl…


  4. Hi Wendy! Frank Costanza is one of my all-time favorite characters. The way he screams for serenity is priceless. I actually think it works for me, too. By the time I’m done waving my hands around in the air and repeating the phrase, I’m laughing, which brings the longed-for serenity. What a gift!


  5. Oh please, darling, don’t do rage like he does. My father had his temperament and I still have emotional scar tissue. On the other hand, I once worked with (when I was teaching) a guy who was a rageoholic and, because of my experience with my father (and ultimate resilience, once said to him: “Oh, fuck off and stop taking yourself so seriously. Do you think anybody really cares?” It was a wonderfully existential moment. Meanwhile, Angela, I hope your ducks are coming into a row and ‘serenity’ rules, if nothing else does in life.


  6. Oh, Ian, don’t you worry. People are only afraid of me when I get very, very quiet. πŸ™‚ I raise my hands and yell (in a mocking way), so people laugh along with me, which is the whole point of the kvetching — to change a stressful situation into a laugh and diffuse it. I’m sorry that you had a dad who was that way. My own was similar, and it’s why I really try to work with my negative emotions to clear them as quickly and as harmlessly as possible. I’m glad that you were able to use that difficult experience as a chance to grow and stand up for yourself. Good for you! My bitching today is about my experience at work, but we’re all feeling it here, and hopefully it will subside soon. Just wanted to let some steam off before picking up the wee one so that I could greet her with a big hug and smile. There is something to this ranting online thing that really seems to help me. I feel better already! xoxoxoxo


  7. My favorite episode is when Frank Costanza agrees to cook again after a long-ago trauma in wartime Korea in which “I sent 17 men to the latrines that night.”

    At the moment he decides to come back, he screams: “I’m back, baby, I’m back! Like a phoenix rising out of Arizona!”


  8. And some days, it’s hard to stop the spinning – never mind getting around to cleaning up with the dustpan.


  9. Jim ~ Oh, that had me laughing out loud. Thank you!

    Isn’t that the truth, Beth? I think I reached the end of the storm these last two days, but where all that came from was beyond me, and I was just trying to keep up. And I thought that this was going to be my week of peace after a wild work week last week. HA! God has good laughs at my expense. Of this I am nearly certain. Cheers, my friend!


  10. Do you mean the adult diaper pads?


  11. Depending on how much Wild Turkey I drink, yes!


  12. Seinfeld quotes make the day go so much better.


  13. Meleah Rebeccah ~ Don’t they, though? Thank you so much for visiting. I’m in love with your blog at first site. May I link you? So glad you found me and thank you for the smiles. Wonderful blog!


  14. How well I know this feeling! And yet, I still have times when I spin as if it will help. Peace to you!


  15. Thanks, CS. I told the spinners to back off and am feeling much better. πŸ™‚



Leave a Reply

