h1

I loved this dog

October 4, 2007

Inspired by Beth’s post about Major, I offer you one of the photos in my two-inch stack. His name was Caesar, named after the emperors because I was dating a social studies teacher. For years, he was the only one who understood me.

As I type this, I realize that I hope that he’s somewhere out there understanding how grateful I am to have known him and to have had the rottweiler stereotype erased from my brain. He was the most gentle soul I’ve ever known, and I miss him terribly sometimes. He died of cancer when he was only seven.

acaesarredo.jpg

We picked him out when he was three-weeks old, and the owners spray painted his butt so we’d know which one was ours. He, out of all his brothers and sisters, was the one who immediately curled up in my hands and fell asleep — and when Mr. X tried to touch him, he growled. Mr. X thought this was cool.

I hope that when I die that this dog is there to meet me. That would be enough.

caesarredo.jpg

15 comments

  1. So glad you came by! It was so delightful to see someone had read through my site instead of just my latest TT. I’ve been out of the loop a little bit because of a new position at work and a broken arm. I see that I believe we will find we have a lot in common! Look forward to reading more about you and hearing from you! I heard you got the “Rising Blogger” Award too! Congratulations! Take care – L


  2. Oh he was beautiful!
    My parents had a couple Rotts after I had left home.
    They were great dogs.


  3. What a marvelous picture.
    Big old Major thinks he’s a lap dog, too!

    “If there are no dogs in Heaven, then when I die I want to go where they went.”
    Will Rogers


  4. What a beautiful animal! I think everyone (well animal lovers anyway) has one or two pets who have impacted their lives in so many wonderful ways. It’s always hard to lose them because they ARE family, and in some ways, they are a bit better than family.

    Thank you for sharing your beautiful Caesar with us!


  5. He’s gorgeous. Thankyou for this post! I miss my Huey…


  6. He’ll be there to greet you for sure. Just like my beloved Murphy the brilliant border collie, who died in 1988, will be there to greet me. I’m counting on it. Lovely photo of you and adored Caesar.
    On another matter, I was amused by your comment on sports in my blog. That makes you even dearer to my heart, since I am exactly the same about especially team sports. Hated gym in school. “Those who can, do, those who can’t, teach, and those who can’t teach, teach PE.” So, you and I have so many areas of commonality that I’ve decided you are really my baby sister, but in one of those dreadful family secrets, that’s been kept from us. Works for me.


  7. Hi LC ~ Thanks so much for stopping by. I was really just entranced by your blog so can’t take much credit for staying focused. I’ll definitely be back.

    ACG ~ I was not really a dog person before Caesar and was pretty scared of dogs like Rotts. I think they can be the most wonderful dogs, though, and would have another one in a heartbeat.

    Beth ~ One of my favorite quotes. Count me in on that one!

    Hi Jenn ~ Yes, yes and yes. This dog was a bit of solace for me during a tough time (self-inflicted, but still). I’m glad that more and more people are recognizing the value of pets and what they do for us emotionally, and even spiritually.


  8. Hi Reese!

    I don’t know if it was easier to love him because he was beautiful, but I did love him. I’m sorry to hear about Huey. Those heart dogs/pets are hard to lose.

    Ian ~ You know the funny thing? I was married to a basketball coach for 9 years. I think this cemented my dislike of sports. And it’s not that I dislike them so much as that they’re just not for me. Same with biology. Some people love it. I don’t want to be anywhere *near* a petrie dish. But yes, I do feel some weird connection. The little sister idea is marvelous. I love it! Now there’s a novel for you. I’ve heard stories like that, though, where twins separated at birth find each other. Hard to believe that that kind of stuff actually happens. My life has been much more drama-free than that, thankfully.


  9. Just another case of how one can get so close to pets — something you can’t explain. Pets are hard to lose (like you said). That’s a great looking dog and I am sure he had his fair share of loving when he was alive.


  10. awww….. he is CRAZY cute. I am so sorry you didn’t have MORE time with him. I am even more sorry that he passed away. Thats AWFUL. My heart goes out to you.


  11. Thanks, Foo. He was my heart dog. I wish I felt about Smokey the way I felt about Caesar, but maybe it’s that I don’t need Smokey the way I needed Ceas. I felt very alone without that dog. I don’t feel so alone anymore. 😉

    Thanks, Meleah! He is beautiful, isn’t he? (See, I still talk about him in present tense, even though he died six years ago.) He was a gift to me, and I still feel him sometimes. That’s a good thing. Thanks for stopping by!


  12. It has been said that aminals reincarnate faster than humans because their lives are so much shorter than ours. It has also been said that if we have a deep and lovig realtionship with an animal that it will sometimes return to us in another form. I think that if you ask Caesar to send you one of his incarnations, it will happen. I feel that this is how I got my dog Lani. After many months of seraching for the right dog, I asked the last dog I had to guide me to the right one. She showed up within a week. Good luck.


  13. Greta looking dog. DO you know the “Carl” books for children? Reminds me of him.


  14. I meant GREAT looking, not Greta.


  15. Hehehee. C, I do that all the time. Drives me batty, I tell you. The Carl books are why I acquiesced to Caesar in the first place. Mr. X wanted a pit bull or a rott. I wanted neither — until I found Carl. I think it was meant to be, because the author and I share a common relative — distant cousins. I love that. And I love Carl. He’s awesome.



Leave a Reply

