h1

Random observations

October 4, 2007

I have silky socks on today. Because I’m wearing mules (not the ass kind, people), I’m slipping all around and may take a tumble before the day is over. I’ll keep you posted.

Driving to work today, I saw that it was snowing on the mountain. This makes me happy.

They changed the coffee at work. It sucks. I’m drinking it anyway.

I have to start taking classes again or lose my credential. Any suggestions?

Last night my husband said that he would only entertain the idea of a threesome if the woman was a cancer patient, only had one day left to live and was in love with me. I thought that was sweet.

He also bought me a really small pumpkin for my desk to remind me that LJ will be coming soon.

Unfortunately, he is also coming the same weekend that my father, my mother and my mother-in-law are coming.

Jon’s parents and my parents have never met. I’m nervous.

I spent two hours last night going through old photos and thinking of blog entries. The photos I chose make a two-inch stack. I hope I don’t get hit by a bus anytime soon so that I can keep posting.

I also need a good scanner.

I have a scanner, but I don’t have the software that goes with it.

This creates a problem.

I have lots of problems.

But I no longer have a bathtub filled with plants.

I have more stories than I could post in a lifetime.

I’m probably half-way through my life already.

When I was younger, I used to have a premonition that I would die at 42.

That’s less that five years from now.

I’d better get crackin’.

16 comments

  1. You’ll live for years and years and years and years. My predictions are infallible. Oh, and I do think your husband’s criteria for a threesome are awfully stringent. On the other hand, he obviously loves you very much. And so he should. You are so funny, Angie, it’s so nice to have you back in fine fettle. Let’s one day, on a galaxy far away, have a coffee together — but maybe not your office coffee.


  2. I’m 42. I may have only one day left. Would you sleep with me? πŸ™‚

    Is there any concrete reason you think the in-laws might not get along (different values, politics, religion, etc.)? Or is it just unfocused jitters?


  3. Ian ~ I think I am very glad to hear that news. Glad, and a little tired. Good coffee would be wonderful.

    Hi Jim ~ Did you ever have premonitions about weird things like that? If you’re able to somehow miraculously morph into a woman dying of cancer, we might be able to strike a deal. I have to admit I was surprised by his reticence. Have I been stereotyping him all this time? Unforgivable!

    I think the in-laws will be nice to each other but not like each other, mostly on the basis of religion. I also think that all three of them are horribly judgmental (which is never good and makes me horribly judgmental to be judging them that way). Same = good. Different = bad. His mother and my parents are very, very different. On the other hand, I may not be giving any of them enough credit. What I do know is that they are all very well mannered, so it will just be me dealing with their body language and unspoken looks and caring far too much about what Jon’s mother, especially, thinks of my parents. I really need to stop caring about what other people think. Add this to the “to do” list.


  4. You have more stories than you can post in a lifetime?
    Wow. I may need to borrow a few.. I think I’m blogged out! πŸ˜‰


  5. Hi Dawn! You are welcome to them. Some of them are fairly interesting, if I do say so myself, but I never seem to find/make time to sit and write them down. Going through those pictures was interesting, though. It made me realize that I have more stories than I thought I did. Help yourself to whatever you’d like. I’m all about sharing. πŸ™‚ What would you like to borrow first?


  6. I love these random observation posts – I think they reveal more about the blogger than they realize.
    Don’t fuss about death at age 42 thing – my sister did that for years re: age 38 – she’s still going strong.
    Looking forward to all the stories and the pictures that inspired them!


  7. Hi Beth ~ Uh, oh. Now I’m worried about what this says about me. That’s okay. I already know, and I’m okay with it. πŸ˜‰ Thanks for the reminder that I won’t necessarily be dead in 58 months. Best if I lived like it, though.


  8. I’m loving the random bits – it’s about all my ADD can handle today! πŸ™‚


  9. Thanks, Reese. Loved your post today. Makes me hungry.


  10. lol…don’t even want to know how the subject of threesomes came about. that’s a subject i always try to avoid in my conversations with J πŸ˜‰

    wow, jon’s parents and your parents haven’t met?

    you have lots of problems — i do too. let’s start a
    problems club.

    have more stories than you could post in a lifetime — me too!

    about number 42, maybe that meant when you will finally realize what the meaning of life is, the bad experiences in your life will truly be a thing of the past and your life will be renewed. hmmm, i’m being philosophical today. maybe its because i’m in that frame of mind … just blogged about life on my blog.


  11. Hi Foo! Hehehehehe. We’re married. You know. We talk about stuff. That I’m posting it on the Internet for the entire world to see — now that’s a different matter entirely. πŸ˜‰ But you see, *I* brought it up, so that was okay. How would you feel if *J* brought it up? Just curious. I’m a curious person.

    And yes, our parents haven’t met. Crazy, huh? We didn’t invite any of them to our wedding. πŸ™‚ Just went to the courthouse on a Tuesday at lunch.

    I’m totally in on the problems club. I can’t think of anyone who couldn’t be a member; can you?

    And thank you for that last piece about turning 42. What a lovely, lovely way to look at it! I will look forward to that even more now and come read your post. I love the way you think. Thanks so much.


  12. you know what– you’re right, if J mentioned it, it won’t be so awkward. see it seems a little different if a woman says it, almost kinky. haha. oops too much information πŸ˜‰

    Ang a curious cat? hmmm … nooooo πŸ˜‰

    i love number 42! yeah my post is at
    http://thefoologs.com/life-is-short-make-it-count/


  13. glad you liked the linked article. btw it may be different for J to mention the topic of threesome but don’t think i’ll even want to do it — even if the woman had one day to live with cancer.


  14. You see, Foo: yet another reason why I appreciate you. Between you and Jon, you are just going to kill the stereotype of the sexually insensitive man. Good for you! Thanks for stopping back by with more thoughts. It’s fun to have access to other’s relationships and realize that many of them work in a similar fashion (and that that fashion is far from perfect and that’s quite okay). Take care, Foo!


  15. I’m glad I didn’t have that premonition, or I’d have had to die three years ago! The women in my family tend to be long-lived, so I’m hoping to follow suit. I was seeing a guy who would occassionally braoch the threesome subject and I would say, “Sure! You have a guy in mind to invite?” That always shut him up.


  16. C ~ Isn’t that the truth? I loved the Foo’s take on it: that my life would *begin* at 42. It completely changed it around. Very cool. And aren’t you witty with the comeback. I love your wit. I’m thankful that Jon has never brought up the subject. Me, on the other hand, . . . so curious, I am.



Leave a Reply

