h1

My new favorite sad song — Stay

October 9, 2007

Made even more poignant by the knowledge that the lead singer on this song lost her husband to a heart attack at age 41 a couple of years ago. She is my age. Never miss the opportunity to say, “I love you.” That’s my lesson for today from this song. We are too soon old and too late wise. Thank you all for staying with me. I hope you know how tremendous I think you all are.

My thanks to BShortysBaby for the video and to Little Big Town for the song and good memories, specifically to LBT singer Jimi Westbrook for noticing my daughter. Thank you for giving her a taste of that Southern hospitality we all crave. I imagine that she’ll be in love with Alabama boys from now on thanks to you.

10 comments

  1. Very sad.
    Isn’t is strange that we all need reminders to say “I love you?”
    You’d think it would just come naturally…


  2. Hi Beth ~ Absolutely. I also feel like I need a big kick in the pants to get in the moment sometime and really *feel* the I love you I’m giving (or getting). There’s a difference between the quick I-love-you kiss goodbye and the I-love-you kiss I would give if I knew that I was never going to see Jon again. That’s the kind of kiss I want more often.


  3. I’m reminded of the song “Chasing Cars” and the line… “Those three words
    Are said too much
    They’re not enough”

    There’s so much more to saying “I love you” than just words… like you said “There’s a difference between the quick I-love-you kiss goodbye and the I-love-you kiss I would give if I knew that I was never going to see Jon again.”


  4. Hi Dawn. Yes. It’s a shame that we are so flippant with those we love. I’m trying to learn to be less so.


  5. Poignant, and a strong reminder to take nothing for granted. Wendy and I make a point of saying ‘I love you’ every day, often more than once. And I love you for the observation and your wonderful blog. The song reminds me of the late Jim Croce’s last hit, which was dedicated to his wife, which was ‘Time in a Bottle.’ Time, of which it turned out, he had no more.


  6. Thanks, Ian. None of us are promised another day, just as you mention with Jim Croce and his wife. I watched a documentary not too long ago that chronicled his life and I was heartbroken to realize that he died so young and that he and is wife seemed to be truly in love. She sang with him. They looked to be an amazing couple, and I try to take his words and the words of advice to heart when I say that we should all remember to love each other as deeply as we possibly can while we still have each other.


  7. “Never miss the opportunity to say, “I love you.” That’s my lesson for today from this song”

    I try my best to tell everyone I love them as often as possible. Tomorrow is promised to NO ONE


  8. Meleah ~ That must be why I like you so much! I smiled at your last sentence. I have a post that ends exactly the same way that I’m saving so as not to overpost in a day. Sometimes I have to, but today I’m sitting on it. Cheers!


  9. what a nice calm song. As a rule we always say I love you and give a smooch before exiting each others company. Even if its just for a few minutes. Couldn’t imagine losing someone I love topped with no last I Love You.


  10. Hi Pool ~ We’ve all been over here grieving the loss of the skydivers whose plane took off just down the road a little bit. We lost one of our local girls, and I grieve for the families who weren’t able to give their children (mostly) one final goodbye hug and kiss. I can’t even imagine it. Grief and I don’t really get along so well. And I’m afraid to think that perhaps I haven’t even seen the half of it yet. (Wow. What an optimist I am today.) 😦



Leave a Reply

