h1

Dog philosophy

October 30, 2007

In lieu of an acutal post, I bring you (dum du du dum) DOG PHILOSOPHY quotations. Preparing for the fam and enjoying the fam has left little blogging time, so please know that I have missed you all and am sending out good thoughts even though I’ve been offline. On the upside, I had my best day ever in terms of page views! Looks like being gone is good for the blog! (What that says about me, I’m not exactly sure, but I had a good laugh over it nonetheless.)

And so, without further adieu:

Dog Philosophy

The reason a dog has so many friends is that he wags his tail instead of his tongue.

-Anonymous

Don’t accept your dog’s admiration as conclusive evidence that you are wonderful.

-Ann Landers

If there are no dogs in Heaven, then when I die I want to go where they went.

-Will Rogers

A dog is the only thing on earth that loves you more than he loves himself.

-Josh Billings

The average dog is a nicer person than the average person.

-Andy Rooney

Dogs love their friends and bite their enemies, quite unlike people, who are incapable of pure love and always have to mix love and hate.

-Sigmund Freud

I wonder if other dogs think poodles are members of a weird religious cult.

-Rita Rudner

Anybody who doesn’t know what soap tastes like never washed a dog.

-Franklin P. Jones

If I have any beliefs about immortality, it is that certain dogs I have known will go to heaven, and very, very few persons.

-James Thurber

My dog is worried about the economy because Alpo is up to $3.00 a can. That’s almost $21.00 in dog money.

-Joe Weinstein

Women and cats will do as they please, and men and dogs should relax and get used to the idea.

-Robert A. Heinlein

If you pick up a starving dog and make him prosperous, he will not bite you; that is the principal difference between a dog and a man.

-Mark Twain

You can say any foolish thing to a dog, and the dog will give you a look that says, ‘Wow, you’re right! I never would’ve thought of that!’

– Dave Barry

If you think dogs can’t count, try putting three dog biscuits in your pocket and then give him only two of them.

-Phil Pastoret

9 comments

  1. Reminds me of one I used to see on someone’s email sig line: “I want to be the person my dog thinks I am.”


  2. I love dogs.


  3. You included my favorite Thurber dog quote, and it’s one I actually use. Loved all the others, too. Meanwhile, have a good time with what you are doing and look forward to seeing you back, dear Ang, when life lightens up in terms of obligations.


  4. great quotes!!


  5. Hi Chani ~ That’s a good one, too! I thought of keeping that one in the list, but my current dog thinks I live only to throw him the ball. I rebel against that. πŸ˜‰

    Pool ~ Yet another woman that I have nominated you for the Coolest Woman on the Planet award. Be watching for it.

    Ian ~ Isn’t that a great one. Of course, all those of us who repeat it probably believe that *we* are in the “going to Heaven” group and it’s just all the other assholes who will be left out. πŸ˜‰ Am I right or am I right or am I right? (Groundhog Day reference) πŸ™‚

    Hi Meleah! Thank you! I needed a post and this was was in the wings. Thank God for those. Hope you’re doing well!


  6. Fun post…I found a greeting card the other day that says “if your dog doesn’t like somebody, you probably shouldn’t either.”


  7. Hi Seventh Sister ~ I can see wisdom in that. We believed that our wolf was even better at ascertaining character and a good heart. I miss having that sixth sense. Our dog now seems to love everyone. πŸ˜‰


  8. I love this! Many of my best friends have been dogs.

    I place my faith in dogs and they’ve never steered me wrong.


  9. Hi Heart ~ Dogs are amazing. It is no wonder that we love our dogs as much as we do. If we could love as dogs do, the world would be a better place. I’m sure of it.



Leave a Reply

