h1

Awwww, shucks

November 2, 2007

I have to send out some big, warm hugs to Dawn for including me in her list of blogging awards last month. I am deeply honored that she would think that I have anything worthwhile to say. Every time someone sends an award or accolade my way, I blush. I do that. I’m a blusher. I blush because it warms the cockles of my heart to be recognized, and I thank all of you, sincerely, for the ability to be part of your world.

Dawn began her award-giving by bestowing on me (among others) the Best Kept Secret award, and I would like to share it with some really fabulous bloggers I have the pleasure of knowing. Bear in mind that for me to have considered you for this award, you need to have a fairly low profile or show on my google ranking that your blog deserves much higher. Jim.

bkeptsecret.png

That being said, my picks for the Best Kept Secret award are as follows:

Voyager’s Spindrift and Dreams

On the Lakefront

I’m Just Thinking Outloud and

Puppytoes, the kinder, gentler step-sibling of Central Snark (which is also incredibly fabulous, but not a secret)

In a giving mood, Dawn awarded me not one award, but TWO, and I saved the best for last (as I would truthfully like to stay as anonymous as possible, thank you very little). I am honored to accept the Community Blogging award.

I had no idea when I began this journey last year that blogging could be such an incredible experience. Yes, it helps keep my writing chops up, as Ian says. But it also provides an interaction for which I am profoundly grateful.

communitybloggerawardwf1.jpg

I would love to lovingly bestow this lovely award on some lovely folks who have helped create community through blogging and whom I admire and respect for their commitment to others. It was difficult for me to list only the following because so many of you are absolutely tremendous at creating and maintaining community.

The awardees are (drum roll, please):

CS for Another Tangential Thinker

The Foo Logs

Jim’s Ninja of the Mundane

My Reflecting Pool for her consistent responses and wit

and, the good folks at The Rising Blogger, who spread the blogging love by recognizing particular posts from those in Blogland.

I would love to give this award to Heart in San Francisco, too, but I noticed that someone has already honored her with it. In the hopes of spreading the love, myself, I will offer it to her in spirit with my thanks for sharing her wolf stories/pictures.

Now where’s that bottle of champagne?!!

22 comments

  1. You are too kind. πŸ™‚ Thanks! And good picks too!


  2. YAY to Jim!!! He deserves it, for sure! πŸ™‚


  3. Hi Pool! You are so welcome. I just adore you and your blog.

    Hi Reese! YAY! I adore you and your blog, too (especially the Stinkerbell photos — they’re the best). I always feel like everyone on my blogroll should take the awards, because if I didn’t think y’all were worth it, I wouldn’t have linked you in the first place. Happy weekend!!


  4. Congratulations to you. You are just one of my faves and am so glad I found you. Well deserved, my dear.


  5. Thanks for the love. I’m so glad I’ve found you.


  6. Damn, Ian beat me to it.

    Let’s just say that I’m on top of the world looking down on creation … and the only explanation I can find is the love that I’ve found ever since you’ve been around.

    Your love’s put me on the top of the world.


  7. Ian ~ Thank you so much. You are such a dear. Truly. I always remember watching your comments to CS and feeling so much that I wished you’d be my friend, too. Hooray!!!

    Jim ~ YAY!!! Damn, I love the Carpenters. I know, I know. But apparently, you do, too, or you wouldn’t have just listed nearly the entire lyrics to that song. AWESOME! Since Karen C. is one of the few people whose songs I can actually sing, I’ll have to do a rendition one of these days when I get my sustaining pedal back. Of course, then people may not *visit* my blog anymore, but hey — if it’s fun . . . . ?! I hope your weekend is a good one, my friend.


  8. I bet you chased Jon because you love “Superstar”:

    “What to say to make you come again

    Come back to me again

    And play your sad guitar

    Don’t you remember you told me you loved me, baby?

    You said you’d be coming back this way again baby

    Baby, baby, baby, baby, oh, baby, I love you I really dooooooo ….”


  9. Dawn is GOOD like that. She is always giving out the best awards to blog thats deserve them.

    CONGRATS!!!

    πŸ™‚


  10. Jim ~ You’re psychic, man. Just psychic. I have sung that song so many times it’s freaking pathetic. I really wail on the “sad guitar” part. Damn. Now I need to go put that CD in. Thanks, Jim!

    Hi Meleah ~ Isn’t she, though? What a love. Thanks for the congratulations. I’m trying to overcome my anti-adulation disorder one baby step at a time. πŸ˜‰ Cheers!


  11. Aww, thanks! What a nice thing to fins now that I’m finally back to blog-checking. The feeling is fully mutual.


  12. Angela – I think we really are soulmates, I was raised on the Carpenters. All my friends think I’m a wacko when I want to Karaoke to Karen…


  13. Reese ~ I don’t doubt that we are soulmates! I’m just sad that you’re on the other side of the country. If we ever get together for that karaoke song, though, at least we’ll know what we want to sing! I think Jim should come, too! πŸ™‚ (Do you think he’d sing?)


  14. Hi CS ~ You’re so welcome. I am honored to be in your space.


  15. wow! would say i’m undeserving but honored all the same! thanks for the award. YOU definitely deserve it… this is to many more years of great writing and blogging. glad to have found you along the way Ang πŸ™‚


  16. Awww!!! I’m way behind, but I just saw this and I’m honored!!! πŸ™‚ You’re too, too sweet. I’m beyond flattered. You’re fantastic.


  17. Hi Foo ~ I’m so glad that we found one another, too! Best wishes for a great week and thank you, sincerely, for your friendship.

    Hi Jacque ~ No, YOU’RE fantastic! And damn funny, too, which is why I simply could *not* leave you off this list. I don’t know where your sense of humor comes from, but those people should be THANKED. Rock on, girlfriend!


  18. I would totally sing the Carpenters. I know at least 15 songs by heart. Even the REALLY horrific stuff like “Calling Occupants Of Interplanetary Craft.”

    I once saw a parody musical in Seattle called “The Carpeters,” which ended with Richard and Karen passionately making out on a stack of deep shag carpets.


  19. Hi Jim ~ YAY!!!!! That’s so awesome. I can totally see it in my head right now. Does Reese ever make it to Seattle? Now *that’s* a night/experience I want to have! I sang some song at a wedding once that had balloon in the chorus. Sound familiar? Damn if I can remember it right now.


  20. And OH MY GOSH, I would have paid good money to have been able to have seen the shag carpet scene. Maybe we could all meet up for Mama Mia somewhere. Are you an ABBA fan, too?


  21. Angela — i’m afraid i’ve been a bit out of the Bloggy Circle these past few weeks, which is why i missed this lovely honor. thank you, dear friend. and CONGRATULATIONS on your own fine DUEL win! you ARE a great blogger, and it’s most certainly been my pleasure to know and blog with you! πŸ™‚ xox


  22. Neva ~ I’m just so glad that I stumbled upon you somehow. I am happy, happy, happy to know you and just wish the best for your family during these recent trials. Your blogs have inspired me, and I am grateful to have known you.



Leave a Reply

