h1

Tagged for a day in my life

November 14, 2007

1. Name one person who made you laugh last night?

LJ, copying his father: “It puts the Joe Dirt in the hole.”

2. What were you doing at 0800?
Sleeping. {{{shrug}}} I either set my alarm wrong or turned it off in my sleep. Made for a quick morning!

3. What were you doing 30 minutes ago?

Hell if I know. I can’t keep up on what I was doing five minutes ago, let alone 30. Some random computer thing, probably.

4. What happened to you in 2006?

2006? Hmmmm. Such a blur. Let me think about that one. I took a new job. That happened. Oh, and I went to Kennywood Park in Pittsburgh for the first time. I liked that. And I saw Johnny Mathis in concert, and I cried all the way through one of his songs while I was looking at Jon, who was also crying and holding my hand. It was beautiful.

5. What was the last thing you said out loud? “Okay” (In response to a project I’m working on.)

6. How many beverages did you have today? Two-and-a-half. Two cups of coffee and a half of a glass of water.

7. What color is your hairbrush? Tortoise.

8. What was the last thing you paid for? Clothes and a book at Toys R Us.

9.Where were you last night? Home. Playing with the kids, reading books, doing laundry, getting ready for today, cooking dinner, eating dinner, catching glimpses of Jurassic Park between chores

10. What color is your front door? What color is my front door?! Observant, aren’t I? I think it’s blue.

11. Where do you keep your change?
I haven’t changed in many years. I probably won’t be changing soon. I’m stubborn that way.

12. What’s the weather like today? Too damn cold. And windy. I hate wind.

13. What’s the best ice-cream flavor? Whatever the favorite flavor of the person who is eating it is. Duh.

14. What excites you? Oh, geeze. What doesn’t excite me? Taxes. Taxes don’t excite me. But getting the tax refund does. Baklava excites me. Jon excites me. Thinking of going to Florida excites me. There are just too many different avenues this could take, folks. I’d better stop here.

15. Do you want to cut your hair? Not particularly, and I definitely don’t want to cut it myself.

16. Are you over the age of 25?
Fortunately, and unfortunately, yes.

17. Do you talk a lot?

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAA! Funny question. Next.

18. Do you watch the O.C.?
No. But I watch OCD a lot.

19. Do you know anyone named Steven? I do! One Steven I know taught me how to play craps in Vegas last year. It was AWESOME! We were laughing today about asking for craps money for Christmas. Only 12 weeks left, folks. I am definitely bringing more than $20 this year.

20. Do you make up your own words? Sometimes. But under pressure I can’t come up with any of the funny words I’ve made up. Damn.

21. Are you a jealous person? Sometimes. Who’s asking?

22. Name a friend whose name starts with the letter ‘A’.
Aunt Jemima?

23. Name a friend whose name starts with the letter ‘K’. Apparently I have no friends.

24. Who’s the first person on your received call list? Aunt Sandy. Hey, that starts with an “A”! Kind of.

25. What does the last text message you received say? “Passed!” (from my best girlfriend who just finished her jet training school.)

26. Do you chew on your straw?
No. Why would I do that? Okay, fine. Only when I’m trying to flirt.

27. Do you have curly hair?
Not curly. But not straight, either. I’m stuck with that nasty can’t-quite-make-up-its-mind hair.

28. Where’s the next place you’re going to?
lunch

29. Who’s the rudest person in your life?

Isn’t it nice that I can’t even think of a rude person? I can think of two very hurtful people — so that’s obnoxious, but rude — not so much — even with all the abuse I’ve taken the last couple of years, I can’t really think that it’s been done in a rude way. Is that possible? Well mannered abuse. Yeah, that’s what I’ve taken.

30. What was the last thing you ate?

A chocolate chip granola bar. Yum. And before that . . . BAKLAVA!

31. Will you get married in the future?

What a question! That’s like asking me if I’ll be hit by a car or win the lottery. I’m still young, folks. Anything could happen. I know that I definitely like being married more than I like being single — depending, of course, on the person to whom I am married. If I could have another marriage like this one, I would definitely do it again.

32. What’s the best movie you’ve seen in the past 2 weeks?


Dial M for Murder

33. Is there anyone you like right now?

A whole slew of people.

34. When was the last time you did the dishes?

Dishes? BWAHAHAHAHAHA! I scoff at dishes. Is it Saturday? If it’s not, you can be relatively sure that I’m not doing dishes.

35. Are you currently depressed?

Nope. THANK GOD AND ALL HIS HEAVENLY ANGELS!

36. Did you cry today?

I actually did tear up a little when Denise enthused about passing her check ride. My little ol’ heart just swelled with pride!

37. Why did you answer and post this?

Because I have tremendous respect for Ian, and it was fun.

If you are so inclined, feel free to cut and paste. It is a jolly use of 10 minutes or so.

12 comments

  1. You are inspirational. Yep, from now on I’m only doing dishes on Saturday!
    V.


  2. Hi, V. ~ So glad I could help! Focus on the important stuff; that’s my motto. If they aren’t stinkin’, I ain’t a doin’ ’em.


  3. Still in baklava love, are you? A random thought (my speacialty) triggered by this post: When I was a kid we went into a Sears in Hawaii, and there was Johnny Mathis signing autographs. My Mom bought a tape and had him sign it.


  4. Hi CS ~ I really did love listening to Johnny Mathis, even more than I thought I would. And I love Hawaii. And Baklava. I do love being in love for as long as it can possibly last. Knowing that it’s a fleeting feeling, I try to savor it now.


  5. OK — what was the Johnny Mathis song? Chances Are?; Misty? Misty seems to work since you said you got misty while listening to it.

    I too hate wind storms, and we had a killer one on the weekend. Wind makes me feel helpless and vulnerable.

    And, if ever I run into you in a fast food joint I’ll watch to see if you’re chewing on a straw because I’d be delighted to be flirted with by you.

    Otherwise, dear friend, thank you for taking the time to do this. Was a nice little profile of you as you go about your day.


  6. What lovely answers. I have a red door and i want to paint it black… actually, its white and I want to paint it black, same with the shutters. I couldn’t help the song from coming out.


  7. Wow! That was a TON of questions. I liked your answers.

    My favorite was: “21. Are you a jealous person? Sometimes. Who’s asking?”

    HA ha


  8. Ian ~ I wish I could remember. Isn’t that funny? I’ll have to go see if I can find it. I think it was probably “Moon River,” a favorite of ours.

    Two drifters off to see the world.
    There’s such a lot of world to see.
    We’re after the same rainbow’s end–
    waiting ’round the bend,
    my huckleberry friend

    I think I can speak for both Jon and me when I say that we felt very alone before we found each other. Having a Huckleberry friend has made life so much easier and more glorious. I know that not everyone gets to have that in this lifetime, so I cry about it sometimes — so glad that I didn’t have to go my entire life without it.

    Hi Pool ~ Thanks! You’re so funny. Red is actually a very auspicious door color if you’re into feng shui. Good luck!

    Hi Meleah ~ I know, huh?! You all got about three days of my life piled into one question because it took me a while to answer. I’m so glad you liked that one. I totally saw Robert De Niro’s “Meet the Parents” character in my head when I wrote that. “Just because you’re paranoid doesn’t mean they’re not out to get you.” Words to live by! 😉 Bwahahahaha!


  9. awww, a huckleberry friend. What a great description that I always forget but know is there. Perfect to describe my poor Bill and me. Glad you found yours.


  10. Pool ~ Yes, we are lucky women. (And they’re lucky men, too!)


  11. This was so entertaining. 🙂 I heart you!!


  12. Jacque ~ I heart you right back, girlfriend. Tu eres mi amiga.



Leave a Reply

