h1

Buddha wisdom

November 19, 2007

I truly believe that no matter your spiritual or religious bent, there is wisdom in the following, semantics aside. From my 2007 calendar that hangs on my kitchen wall:

“Taking refuge in the Buddha means that we are willing to spend our life reconnecting with the quality of being continually awake. Every time we feel like taking refuge in a habitual means of escape, we take off more armor, undoing all the stuff that covers over our wisdom and our gentleness and our awake quality. We’re not trying to be something we aren’t; rather, we’re reconnecting with who we are.”

~ Pema Chodron

11 comments

  1. Absolutely! Pema rocks! She is so wise. And Buddha kicked ass … metaphorically of course. 😉

    Thanks for being a constant inspiration Ang. Love you, my dear friend.


  2. Dan ~ YAY! I know that you already know that we are twins. Thank you for being there for me, my friend. I heart you more than you can know.


  3. This is beautiful. Pema Chodron is a great soul and a wonderful teacher.

    Thank you for reminding us of this simple but elusive truth.


  4. beautifully expressed and utterly true. Once on vacation in Hawaii there was in the bedside table drawer (alongside the Gideon Bible) a book of Buddhist reflections which I took to reading every morning. What could be more serene than Hawaii combined with great spiritual truths?


  5. I love to read Pema C. However, I don’t have one of her books because I have always given them away, sometimes before I even finish reading them. Someone will come along with a problem and I will feel lead to give them the book so I do.


  6. Hi Heart ~ I was so thrilled to stumble upon her calendar last year. The photography is magnificent, and every time I take the time to stop and read the page on my wall I am grateful that I did.

    Hi Ian ~ Ahhhhh. There’s a little slice of heaven, there. Wonderful.

    Hi Seventh Sister ~ How wonderful. I should start doing that more often. Do you have a favorite that you like to give to people?


  7. ouch. my head hurts. I’ll have to read this again when I haven’t had a malibu and pineapple. It sounds wise…


  8. wow. thats beautiful.


  9. Hiya Pool! Stop making me laugh, woman. I mean it. STOP IT. Oh, and I plan on getting you that blue sign I just posted. It will be speeding its way to you shortly.

    Meleah ~ I love this woman and her wisdom so much. I have to figure out how to get her 2008 calendar so I can have even more good stuff to stare me in the face every day.


  10. Pema Chodron is great. So sensible, but also so very, very human. She tells a wonderful story about her husband leaving her and how angry she gets.


  11. CS ~ I love her. I didn’t realize that about her husband. I may need to actual go buy her books instead of just hanging her calendar on my wall. Her words have been such tremendous reminders to me this year to just breathe through the things that make me feel angry or scared. God bless her!



Leave a Reply

