h1

Today’s funny T-shirt

November 30, 2007

I couldn’t get the picture to copy from the Signals’ catalog site, so here you go with the hopes that you can read it. I think that there should be one that changes out the word “novel” and makes it “blog.” Don’t you?

I remember at a resort a couple of years ago someone letting out an “uh oh” when they found out I was a writer, as he, she or someone close by had just told a wonderfully juicy story of love, loss and raunchy movie making.

I stopped wanting to wear T-shirts with sayings like this on them a while ago (though the “Runs with Scissors” one still appeals to me), but I thought it might give you all a laugh.

Happy Weekend, all!

careful.jpg

11 comments

  1. Funny or scary, hard to say. ut I have had many expereinces similar to yours when people become aware that I’m a shrink – usually they make a joke about me analyzing them. I always say “Not unless you’re paying me.” I want the shirt I saw (and I think it was in that same catalogue, but years ago) “I’m sorry, you seem to have mistaken me for your therapist.” And I could wear it to work.


  2. Anytime I’m in a fun crowd of people telling stories, as soon as they find out I’m a journalist, the standard witticisms ensue:

    — “Whoa! Hey! This is all off the record!”
    — “Better watch out! You’re about to be tomorrow’s front-page headline!”
    — “I don’t want to see any of this in tomorrow’s paper!”

    Ha. Ha.


  3. CS ~ YES! I want to see a picture of you in that shirt. Like the WTFWJD shirt. Damn. I have GOT to get that one!

    Jim ~ It’s the truth, isn’t it? When you get paid to tell other people’s stories, it’s the wise person who says, “HEY, don’t print this!” I got my CHOPS busted once by a woman who SWORE that she didn’t say what *I* swore she said. Her quote MADE the article, and I was going to be damned if I took it back. She was really hot, though. Apparently her colleagues didn’t like what she had said. When you’re being interviewed FOR A PUBLICATION be careful what you say. Of course, it probably would have been big of me to have let her reviewed it before it went to print, BUT, dammit if that wasn’t the best quote I’ve had in 20 years! Selfish, I am. Selfish, selfish, selfish.


  4. I hope I do because I’d want to see what you’d write about me. so, I won’t be careful if that’s OK with you.


  5. wtfwjd? hahahahahaha!!!! I need one of those! ahhahaha!


  6. Ian ~ YAY!!! Music to my ears. I will definitely need to interview you one day.

    Pool ~ I don’t know if this will post the link, but CS firmly embedded herself as my hero when she posted this:

    http://csl-tangentialthinking.blogspot.com/2007/03/revelation-part-2.html

    I hope it comes through. If not, it’s her March 15 post of this year. 😉


  7. Speaking of the WWJD shirts, etc. …
    I love this shirt: http://www.bustedtees.com/shirt/jesus

    cuz, really, what WOULDN’T Jesus do?


  8. ACG ~ YAY!! So funny! Thanks for sending this along. Hope you’re doing well!


  9. I love it! You’re right… if you switched the word novel to blog… I’d buy the T-Shirt and wear it!


  10. Hi Dawn! That shirt just has to be out there somewhere, don’t you think? Hope you’re having a great weekend!


  11. Oh, that is so very nice of you. It really means a lot to me. Thanks.



Leave a Reply

