h1

Do you think he meant an *actual* report card?

December 12, 2007

There is nothing Babs loves so much as power. It is like crack for her. Super crack, in fact. She nearly starts shaking with the sheer glory of it all.

So when Jon told her that she should report back to him on LJ’s behavior the other night while he was out playing, she got that crack jones look in her eye like I’ve never seen before. Her eyes were as big as saucers, drinking it all in, hoping beyond all hope that he was serious. He was.

Because of this, throughout the night she ran back and forth from her and LJ’s antics to this napkin, words spilling over to a second napkin that has thankfully been misplaced.

Along with any need you may have to break a perfectly good piano, if you need a pint-sized gestapo for some special reconnaissance mission you’ve got going, I’ve got your girl.

And, because it took me a minute to figure it out, “adawlts” is adults. Bless her for remembering us.

One last thought: that she would call someone else “bossy” completely cracks me up.

reportcard.jpg

8 comments

  1. I like ‘adawlts’ and think I may use it. On the other hand, what sort of behavior is included in ‘adawltery’. Just askin’


  2. Ian ~ YAY! I’m so glad to be able to give you a new word. I think “adawltery” must be similar to its sibling, as all siblings are, but perhaps this sib is without guilt or ramifications. Just sayin’. 😉


  3. LOL! It takes bossy to know bossy, huh? 🙂 That little Babs is something else. She just can’t wait to grow up and bloom.


  4. I think it goes with the name. The bossiest girl I knew in grade school was called Babs, but she was an only child and had to make do with tattling on unrelated children. I think that to her, it was all good, though.

    I see a job in your daughter’s future as head of the world someday. I’m still giggling about the video in which she pushed the other kid out of the way as if she were a mosquito and kept on dancing.

    Yayy, Babs!


  5. HA HA HA HA HA! Awesome. Sounds like something I would have done at that age. Or yesterday. 🙂


  6. Dan ~ Hehehehee. Being young is the BANE (And I do mean THE BANE) of her existence.

    Heart ~ I think she prefers the title “Queen of the World,” but I’d have to ask to make sure. She hates when I misquote her.

    Reese ~ YAY! That’s why I love you (in part). You *get* us.


  7. I admire her taking the iniative to use whatever was available to her (napkin) to make sure she got all the details.
    That is the first sign of resourceful journalist.
    And don’t worry about the spelling.
    We can copy edit that for her.


  8. ACG ~ See? THIS is why I love you. YOU see potential. And, yes, she is going to need some good copy editors, because she just rushes from one thing to the next like her pants are on fire. (Okay, it’s not quite *that* bad, but you catch my meaning.) Hope your holidays are going well (or are at least bearable). I’m all about skipping Christmas when the year mandates it. I like to go with the flow that way. Once, I didn’t have Christmas until Jan. and didn’t take the tree down until March. Such is my life!



Leave a Reply

