h1

Because sometimes it gets damned cold

December 18, 2007

With a little help from another movie favorite and my apologies for being a bad blogging friend of late. I would explain, but I know you all understand without explanation. You’re all so good that way. Bless you for it. Oh, and remember, don’t drive angry.

You want a prediction about the weather?! You’re asking the wrong Phil. I’ll give you a winter prediction: It’s gonna be cold, it’s gonna be grey, and it’s gonna last you for the rest of your life.” — Bill Murray as Phil Connors in the 1993 classic Groundhog Day

groundhogday.jpg

First D.J.: Okay, campers, rise and shine, and don’t forget your booties ’cause it’s cooooold out there today.

Second D.J.: It’s coooold out there every day. What is this, Miami Beach?

First D.J.: Not hardly. And you know, you can expect hazardous travel later today with that, you know, that, uh, that blizzard thing.

Second D.J.: [mockingly] That blizzard – thing. That blizzard – thing. Oh, well, here’s the report! The National Weather Service is calling for a “big blizzard thing!”

First D.J.: Yessss, they are. But you know, there’s another reason why today is especially exciting.

Second D.J.: Especially cold!

First D.J.: Especially cold, okay, but the big question on everybody’s lips…

Second D.J.: – On their chapped lips…

First D.J.: – On their chapped lips, right: Do ya think Phil is gonna come out and see his shadow?

Second D.J.: Punxsutawney Phil!

First D.J.: Thats right, woodchuck-chuckers – it’s

[in unison]

GROUNDHOG DAY!

Phil: I was in the Virgin Islands once. I met a girl. We ate lobster and drank pina coladas. At sunset we made love like sea otters. *That* was a pretty good day. Why couldn’t I get that day over and over and over…

8 comments

  1. I really really like the idea of Phil’s good day. My idea, too. Otherwise, I hate the cold, dear, and I love Groundhog Day. One of my faves. Have a lovely pre-Christmas.


  2. I love that movie.


  3. I can sure think of several days I’ve had I wouldn’t mind re-living at least once or twice.

    (I guess this is not the place to be complaining about it being in the low 50’s?)


  4. Oh, I love this movie. I like how he learns a little more each day about becoming smoother and still remains a bit of a jerk. hehe


  5. I absolutely love this movie. Although lately I have had too many days I never want to live over again.
    Thanks for the laugh, I needed it.


  6. Merry Christmas my dear!!!


  7. Hi Ian ~ Isn’t that a lovely good day? I suppose the point is that the good days don’t teach us much! I hope your Christmas was delightful.

    Reese ~ There are so many things I love about that movie that I hardly know where to begin. I may just post the whole damn thing by the time I’m through this winter. Merry Christmas!

    CS ~ You hit on one of my life philosophies: “It’s all relative.” Here’s wishing you warmth and happiness in your home and in your heart!


  8. Pool ~ Don’t you think we should all break it out and watch it together? I do! Maybe on, oh, I don’t know, say, Groundhog Day?!!! Cheers, my friend. I hope you’re doing well!

    Voyager ~ Merry Christmas! Here’s to keeping the laughter coming during days we don’t want to relive. Humor is my favorite coping mechanism. Let the humor continue!! (And may 2008 be a truly wonderful year for you!)



Leave a Reply

