h1

Story of the day

January 4, 2008

An old, tired-looking dog wandered into the yard. I could tell from his collar and well-fed belly that he had a home.

He followed me into the house, down the hall, and fell asleep in a corner.

An hour later, he went to the door, and I let him out.

The next day he was back, resumed his position in the hall, and slept for an hour. This continued for several weeks.

Curious, I pinned a note to his collar: “Every afternoon your dog comes to my house for a nap.”

The next day he arrived with a different note pinned to his collar:

β€œHe lives in a home with ten children — he’s trying to catch up on his sleep. Can I come with him tomorrow?”

8 comments

  1. LOL! Great story! πŸ™‚


  2. hehee! Smart Dog.


  3. Love it!


  4. I need to find a house to take a nap in every day. Mind if I curl up in your hallway?


  5. That is awesome! And it sounds like my friend Jeff’s “neighborhood cat.” The cat waits for him to get home around midnight, he lets him in, the cat eats, and then the cat leaves. He says he knows it’s someone’s pet because it’s got a collar and everything.

    It takes a village … πŸ˜‰


  6. Ha. That is very cute.


  7. So glad you all liked it. Isn’t that the best? Why is it that animals can be/are infinitely more resourceful at times than we are? I’m working on it. Happy 2008!


  8. That’s hysterically funny!!! It made laugh, and I needed to laugh in just this moment. So, thank you!



Leave a Reply

