h1

Seen and heard at my house and then at work

January 24, 2008

“So, Angela, what exactly do you do around here?”

“You know, B. That’s a good question. I’ve been trying to put my finger on it lately, and had my mother-in-law ask me the same thing several months ago. When I couldn’t define what it is I do, I told her that I basically did whatever it was my boss asked me to do. Her response was, ‘So, then you’re his administrative assistant,’ and I thought, ‘Well, there go five Who’s Whos, two degrees and a governor’s commendation down the shitter!'”

Anyone else care to ask me what I do?

Communications. I’m in communications. And marketing. With an emphasis on communications.

“Have you done it for a while?”

“Since ’92,” I replied. Is that a while, folks? I’m thinking that it qualifies.

I was feeling so sorry for myself that I pulled out the big stops, “Well, before this I was the director of marketing and public relations at so-and-so university.”

“Oh.”

Though, folks, today I was thinking that driving a van for a hotel might be a nice job. I think I would like driving a van.

12 comments

  1. Oy. When people ask what I do I tell them I deal with animal shit and people shit. Yours sounds a lot more professional! πŸ™‚


  2. What a great answer! I’ll trade you for a bit. Your job sounds fun. We could share, you and me. I think you’d be marvelous at what I do.


  3. Ha! At least she didn’t try to tell you you’re a sectretary! Once, my #%!&X&&! stepfather said to me,”So, basically you’re a high-paid listener.” That’s right – the whole Ph.D. thing is just a cover.


  4. Van sounds pretty good some days.


  5. I actually did that van-driving job, Angie. Back in 1986, when I worked at the Holiday Inn in Bellingham, Washington. That was the summer the World Expo was in nearby Vancouver, B.C. I made a buttload of money between $1 tips for each bag loaded and offloaded, and more generous tips from Horizon Air flight crews I took back and forth from the airport. At the end of the summer, I had a dresser drawer at home stuffed to overflowing with $1 bills.

    When people ask what I do, I usually answer: “Grammar Nazi.”


  6. CS, the other way I’ve heard that worded: “So, you’re basically a bartender who went to college.”


  7. At 18 I drove a van for a hotel. I always made it an excitng ride for my passengers. Not that they ever appreciated it or anything.


  8. We live in similar professional realms. That makes sense since we seem to have a certain simpatico. Driving a van? Would depend who I got to drive in a van. I could think of some people I’d like to drive, and others definitely not.


  9. People suck. I basically got told my degree was a Mickey Mouse one because of the relatively few contact hours. What the “call me Doctor” PhD tosser didn’t factor in was all the reading/research/essays/assignments I had to do without a prof holding my hand while she went to the movies every night. And then other people scoffed at my choice of job, with which I was really pleased, right in my face. Rude or what?!

    It’s reasons like this I have a rant blog πŸ™‚


  10. Congratulations woman! I have an award for you over at my place!


  11. CS ~ I always look for the tone behind the words. It usually tells me all I need to know.

    ACG ~ I know that it would have its drawbacks, too, but I’m doing my best to honor my soul’s need for a change. πŸ˜‰

    Jim ~ See? I think I could get into it! “Grammar Nazi” is perfect!

    Pool ~ I would have loved to have been in your van!

    Ian ~ We are! That simpatico thing is real. I know it is. And yes, the trouble with driving a van is that not everyone would be nice. Ah, well. Back to the grindstone.

    Lonie ~ Ranting is so important, don’t you think? I couldn’t live if I couldn’t rant (i.e. be honest). Life isn’t always sunshine and roses!

    C ~ Thank you! What a doll you are. I’ll be over directly to fetch it. You are too sweet to me.


  12. I could only drive a van if my passengers were certified bathing non-smokers. Only people who didn’t smell bad would be allowed.

    Your mother-in-law sounds like someone who needs to label everything and thereby limit it. And also like a put-down artist. Your job can’t be defined by a simple job description because it is multifaceted and varies depending on what is required of you.

    (Someone very close to me with a PhD in Psychology has a similar job.)



Leave a Reply

