h1

Reports of my death have been greatly exaggerated

February 3, 2008

And while it’s true that those reports of my death have been exaggerated, I have been able to purchase a new home (that was connected to the garage I felt I needed), moved and written an autobiography, all of which are true with the exception of the last factoid.

Depending on whom you ask, I am either wild and crazy or grounded and strong for having chosen to obtain my own garage rather than park outside one more winter and scrape ice while my husband sleeps in his home that has a four-car garage that I’m apparently not allowed to park in.

Jon says that maybe we’ll work out better this way, but I’m doubtful since he hasn’t called and asked me out yet. I think he’s waiting for me to call and ask him, which I don’t particularly feel like doing, so I’m rolling with it.

For those of you who were enjoying our love story, I apologize. All the things I left off the blog did us in. If this causes you any blog whiplash, I again offer my most humble apologies.

In the meantime, I gave myself a nasty black eye two weeks ago from the stress of it all and have not fully recovered (though I can now go out in public without someone putting a women’s crisis center card in my hand).

And the quick answer, inquisitive Nellies that you are, is that I whacked myself with my aunt’s kitchen cabinet. Yes. Yes, I did.

And the other quick answer is: no. No, I won’t take a picture so you can see it! πŸ˜‰

Happy Belated Groundhog Day, Sweethearts. I’ve missed you!

Tell me how you’ve been!!

13 comments

  1. I’ve been fucking great! Especially now that you have a new post up.

    Seriously, I’m good. Busy, happy, productive, financially afloat, keeping a new blog fed and fat and happy. I hope many of the same things are true of you as well.

    And you can always park in MY garage. πŸ™‚


  2. Jim ~ YAY!!!!! I’m so glad to hear it. I’m yet to be there, but I feel spring coming, so I’m pretty sure that it’s all good.

    And thank you for your offer. It feels good to know it!


  3. My heart goes out to you, my lovely friend. May things all work out for the better for you and may things that need to be resolved be resolved and in my psychic connection with you, I felt that this was the sort of thing you were going through.
    Anyway, cyber love you a lot and come by for a call any time. I’ve missed you tons.


  4. Ian ~ Thank you so much for your kind words. I had hoped that I had dropped enough hints along the way as to not completely surprise people with my news. And knowing our kindred spirits, I’m not surprised that you knew ahead of time. Thank you for the “welcome back.” It’s good to be here!


  5. Oh, I’m sorry about the shiner. That you did not need. And you have a place here if you ever need to cut out of town for a break.


  6. Oh Angela, I am sorry for all that you are going through right now.
    You are a bright spot here in this crazy cyber world and it good to hear your voice anytime with anything you want to say.
    I second CS. Anytime you need a break, my guest room is open to you.


  7. It sounds as though you are dealing with things pretty well. I hope that is the case. I also hope that you don’t feel like a failure or anything. I am sure that this is an event that you will use for growth.


  8. What I meant to say is that I hope you are feeling empowered by the choice you have made. Blessings on your new adventure in living.


  9. CS ~ Thank you, my dear. It’s nearly healed now, so no more worries, though I think I did permanently ding my nose. A good reminder of the stress I’ve been under and to keep myself from similar circumstances in the future!

    ACG ~ Thank you, so much. I may very well take you both up on those offers when I get my travel fund restocked. Moving is a bitch. πŸ˜‰ Fortunately, I feel really good about where I am and where my life is going, so with the exception of a speed bump here or there, it’s been really a positive experience.

    Seventh Sister ~ You are too sweet to worry about amending! I smiled to read it. I remember Sting saying that he felt like a failure when his marriage ended and connected your comment with his experience. I actually do feel really strong and sometimes even happy with the choices I felt I had to make. It’s a good thing, and definitely an adventure as you say. Thanks for your encouragement. It means so much!


  10. Sending big hugs and all best wishes from the east coast, where a couple of clumps of snowdrops are blooming in my yard and a world-class groundhog is dreaming of another season of my mini-garden of tomato plants and the clover that grows around them. Maybe I can get a photo this year! With love and happy memories of a great girls’ weekend — Hazy


  11. HAZY!! Oh, it’s so good to see you! It looks like our old site bit the dust . . . ? I tried checking in a while back and couldn’t find what had happened. Do you still have my email? Thank you so much for the hugs. I keep my picture of the winery close to me and remember a really wonderful time. Please stay in touch. I miss you!


  12. It’s all my fault. I neglected you (and all my other blog buddies) for a few weeks and all hell broke loose.

    I’m so sorry for all you’re going through, but I know that you will rise like the Phoenix because you are smart, resourceful, and an altogether great person.

    Having your car live indoors in winter is a wonderful start to a new and better life.

    Sending hugs.


  13. Heart ~ Thank you so much for your encouragement. It means more than you may know. I’m alive and kickin’ and just waiting for a little more of my spunk to return. I know it’s there, though — just have to ride the wave. Hugs right back at you, beautiful lady.



Leave a Reply

