h1

For the girls

February 12, 2008

Last night when we were out to dinner, I had a mini panic attack when one of the girls in a group of friends who has recently adopted me mentioned my Mayflower connection. How the hell did she know about that?!

Apparently the answer is that when your legally wedded husband refuses to sign a little piece of paper that says that you can purchase your own home and you go to a girlfriend’s house when invited over for “wine night” as a distraction and you end up drinking three bottles instead of three glasses, you blab to the room that you have a blog and why, yes, here’s the URL. And then they go and read it! Who knew?!

So, welcome, lovely ladies. You’re incredible. And I am so thankful that you have all taken me under your wing and encouraged me never, ever, under any circumstances, to live with a man again. It takes decades to find people who will offer that kind of encouragement! 😉

And because this used to be kind of a fun place to hang out before winter hit and because y’all were expecting me to be funny on this blog, I will repost some of my (hopefully) more funny moments. Because it seems to me that there was a time when I was funny. It just hasn’t been recently.

Spring is coming, though, and I have hope. For God’s sake, I’m leaving for Vegas on Sunday! For work, mind you, but still. Steve isn’t going to be able to come this year, so I’m not sure that craps will be any fun without him, and seeing as how I recently shackled myself to a 30-year mortgage, I may not gamble at all. But it’s something to pack for and a chance to escape the cold for a bit.

So to everyone who is new, and everyone who has been hanging in there with me, a few of the postings that have had the best reactions and gotten a chuckle or two. Cheers! (We’ll begin with a post on Scotch — my personal favorite.)

“Once, during Prohibition, I was forced to live for days on nothing but food and water.”

Would you like a larger pair of pants with that?

There goes my ski pass!

Money may not buy happiness, but . . .

Quite possibly the best day of my life

And my wish for all of you, as always, taken from my birthday post this year:

“May you live every day of your life” — Jonathan Swift

redwoods-running.jpg

Scotch, Starbucks, baklava, robotic ponies and the redwoods. Yep. That about sums it up. Vegas, here I come!

10 comments

  1. Oh, what a beautiful picture! 🙂 Hope you have a refreshing time in Las Vegas.

    And, yes, I got the larger pair of pants a long time ago. LOL


  2. Have just checked in after a (too long) absence. Hard to believe you are going through this – again. You sound good but I know that can take a lot of effort.
    Hang in there, kiddo. We both know it can be a rough ride.
    Enjoy Las Vegas – and that’s an order!


  3. I’m not one of the ‘girls’ but I’ve come to love you dearly and believe me, I do feel your pain, as well you know, and with one day at a time, you’ll walk this path, through the redwoods or wherever. You have soul and strength girl, and that’s what counts.
    And, I just had a weird experience. I was standing in the checkout at the local supermarket and turned to look at the (absolutely drop-dead gorgeous, willowy blonde) woman behind me. After I caught my breath, I realized she could have been your twin sister. Either that, or you’re in the neighbornood and didn’t even tell me. If so, I would be crushed.
    Love and wishes to you, dear Angie.


  4. Ah fun, outing yourself to “real life” people.


  5. Swift was so right – the twists and turns, all to be lived. And lived fully. Hope you have a fabulous time in Vegas.


  6. Hope you had an uncrappy time at the craps table. Glad to hear the smile in your writer’s voice, however stretched or strained it may be at times.


  7. Bet on Black 13 for me! Win big baby, blogger needs a new pair of shoes!!!!


  8. Chani ~ Thanks so much for your good wishes. I’m so grateful to have that photo as it is already one of my favorites and I’m sure will be for years to come.

    Beth ~ Thanks for stopping by! It’s a good thing. You know. Hard, but good. I know you know there comes a point where you just have to say, “You know what? Okay. It is what it is. Okay.” That’s where I’m at. I hope you’re doing well!

    Ian ~ You’re so sweet, always. My blabbering to folks in my real life caught me a bit off guard and I felt like I had to catch them up. Thanks for sticking around through thick and thin and for the kind, kind compliments. If I’m ever in or near where you are, I’ll make sure to let you know!


  9. Miss Brit ~ Isn’t that the truth? One of these days I’m not going to be able to say a damned thing on here.

    Jim ~ Not a penny gambled – not a penny lost. Is that how it goes? Now the Foundation Room, that’s an entirely different story. One that will be left off the blog. Let’s just say that drinking your dinner is not the best way to go through life.

    Pool ~ Dammit! I should have read this while I was down there! Losing my craps partner was so disappointing — I just am not over the pain of it. Vegas – the experience that was.


  10. Citizen ~ Yes, yes and yes. I’m at least not dead. That’s a good thing. 😉



Leave a Reply

