h1

Seriously?

March 9, 2008

Can someone help me with the end of Lady Chatterley’s Lover? Apparently, my book has lost the closing chapters, and I’m all verklempt about it — so much so that I would like to forget that I even liked the book in the first place.

And here I thought I was going to be a huge D.H. Lawrence fan. Now I’m left with a only a big “Huh?!”

Anyone else have this experience? I’m scared to try any more Lawrence at the moment being left with this huge anti-climactic feeling.

10 comments

  1. Sorry, never read it so I can’t help with this one. Let’s see, what totally irrelevant comment can I sub in? I know – I like the new avatar photo. Very happy-looking. Back to the grind – lunches to pack, breakfast to make, sleepy children to prod.


  2. This link to online text seems to work, at least for Chapter 19:
    http://www.bibliomania.com/0/0/32/68/frameset.html

    I hope you, Babs, mousie and fish are settling into your new home and starting to enjoy it. Sending love and all best wishes!


  3. Using the term ‘anticlimactic’ advisedly, no doubt. Far better books by Lawrence (though less graphic) are The Rainbow and its sequel Women in Love. Read them in that order because the same characters are in both at different stages of their lives. I guarantee you will love both. In fact, I ‘know’ you will.
    You brought out the age-old high school lit teacher in me, you did, dear.


  4. I read it a few years ago, and can remember very little about it, except a sense of dissatisfaction.

    End review.


  5. Ouch, sometimes I’m terribly literal-minded. The chemistry/accounting/programming influence, maybe?


  6. Citizen ~ No worries. I’ll take a random thought from you any day!

    Hazy ~ You *see* why I love you so much! (And miss you for crying out loud!) We are settling in just fine, and don’t worry for a second about taking me literally — that was my fault for being obtuse. Miss you!

    Ian ~ Bless you, bless you, bless you. I just kept looking for the rest! (And it didn’t help that whatever commentary Lawrence had made at the end that goes on for 40 pages and is actually quite interesting I had considered part of the novel so thought I had 40 more pages to read. Suddenly, it was over, and there were no more pages. And no resolution? WTF? Thank you for the advice. I would have read Women in Love first (since it’s sitting on my shelf) and will be sure to read them in the order you suggest. God bless you and your history! {{{{{{{HUGS}}}}}}}}}}

    Lonie ~ You’re a soulmate, you are. Hope you’re doing well!


  7. The best I remember, it has a pretty anticlimatic ending. They all go back to how things were before anything happened which is why I compare it to Hemmingway.


  8. Have you ever read Cider House Rules? THe set up for part of the story is simimlar but John Irving tells a much better story.


  9. Seventh Sister ~ The ending is so anticlimactic that I kept trying to figure out where the rest of the book had gone to. Did I have some pirated edition that cut out the end? Had someone ripped the pages from my book? I just really didn’t see the end coming. (Probably because there were still 30 pages of written word left in the book – an afterward that Lawrence had written explaining some of the reactions to the book and thoughts about sex. Dummy me thought that the *book* actually ended on 363. HA!)

    And thanks for the recommendation. I will definitely need to check it out.


  10. As far as I know the book just ends with Mellors’s letter? Doesn’t it? I know there are about three versions of the book.



Leave a Reply

