h1

Because sometimes we all need a pep talk

March 31, 2008

Wisdom from those who know more than I: (And here’s hoping that General Patton can somehow let me know from the Great Beyond which time in my life this is!)

Fear is just your feelings asking for a hug.

~Danielle Sanchez-Witzel and Michael Pennie, My Name is Earl

I have accepted fear as a part of life – specifically the fear of change…. I have gone ahead despite the pounding in the heart that
says: turn back.

~Erica Jong

Fear: False Evidence Appearing Real.

~Author Unknown

If a man harbors any sort of fear, it percolates through all thinking, damages his personality and makes him a landlord to a ghost.

~Lloyd Douglas

Anything I’ve ever done that ultimately was worthwhile… initially scared me to death.

~Betty Bender

There is a time to take counsel of your fears, and there is a time to never listen to any fear.

~George S. Patton

9 comments

  1. Is it just me,or does it seem like the quotes from men are about not being subject to fear, and the quotes from women are about accepting and just being in fear?


  2. Thank you so much, Angela. I needed this badly! You remain one of my biggest blogging inspirations! 🙂


  3. Citizen ~ I’m so glad you pointed that out. Are women more comfortable with their emotions do you think? Or do we just have more of them? Hmmmmm.

    Girl of Words ~ Okay, so you are way to kind to me, first of all. I could just hug you for that! I’m glad that putting my pain on the Internet is good for you. It’s pretty cathartic for me, too. Here’s to some good catharsis, my friend!


  4. With fear there is no faith; with faith there is no fear. I try to live with that mantra. I rarely succeed. But, sometimes …………


  5. I like the Lloyd Douglas quote best. It really does hold us captive, carrying around the past like a weight.


  6. Great quotes. If you start channeling Patton, get some help.


  7. I just found you in my comments from a while back..somehow I missed coming here.:( So sorry I did because I like the positive energy here!

    I see we share a love of quotes. I am not sure which of these I like the best. Hmmm…possibly Betty Bender’s words.

    I’ll be back to visit. 🙂


  8. “Do the thing you fear, and it will disappear.”

    Sounds good, anyway.


  9. Ian ~ Thank you for adding that. Very fitting. Here’s wishing you a marvelous April, my friend.

    Chani ~ I think that fear can be good in *some* situations (like keeping us away from a hot stove, for instance), but I hope to one day gain a better understanding of when it’s useful and when it’s not. I think that, for the most part, it’s not.

    Seventh Sister ~ Excellent advice! I’m totally afraid of Patton. But I’m not surprised that Patton’s not afraid of fear — I’ll bet fear is afraid of Patton!

    Gypsy-heart ~ I remember your site — it was beautiful! Would love to have you visit any time. My best to you.

    Paul ~ I *do* like the idea and can see how it could be applicable in a lot of situations. Thanks for visiting!



Leave a Reply

