h1

Hump Day

May 21, 2008

I don’t think I’ve ever participated in a Wordless Wednesday, and I’m obviously still not because these are words you’re reading, BUT, I had this image in my head today and thought that it might help to get it out in this place.

Yes, sometimes you’re the windshield, and sometimes you’re the bug. Thank you, Mary Chapin Carpenter, for these profound words and the reminder that life, hopefully all life, is cyclical.

And to anyone I have ever hurt or offended with my windshield tendencies, I offer my deepest and most heart-felt apologies. What the world needs now is love, sweet love, a few less windshields and a lot more kindness.

Here’s a hug to anyone who’s ever felt like the bug and not had someone there to hug you while you were going through it.

12 comments

  1. there is nothing more aggravating then cleaning off your windshield after a bug storm during a long car drive. Damn it people, quit being bugs.


  2. Ms. Windshield ~ Are you giving lessons? I don’t think I would be the only one to sign up for them! πŸ˜‰ xoxoxo


  3. Okay, first of all, I’m trying to clear my mind of the image of someone giving a smashed bug a hug.

    There. This morning I was diving my son to school and a squirrel ran out in front of me. Then did that thing where he started darting back and forth, unsure which way to go to avoid being obliterated. I came to a near-full stop before the squirrel ran into the ditch. My somewhwat tangential point being that I don’t want to be a windshield OR a bug. Neither the hurter nor the hurt.


  4. I meant dRiving. He doesn’t go to school underwater.


  5. Today I feel a bit like that smashed bug, and I’m not even sure why. Just one of those ‘hump’ day days.


  6. Citizen ~ Totally agree. And I smiled to read your second comment — I read what you intended the first time — didn’t even notice. πŸ˜‰

    Ian ~ Well, then {{{{{{{{{{HUGS}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}


  7. >Thank you, Mary Chapin Carpenter, for these profound words and the reminder that life, hopefully all life, is cyclical.

    Technically, you need to thank Mark Knopfler of Dire Straits, since he was the writer of that song “The Bug” (sorry, I can’t help being a music geek :))

    TW
    p.s. Based on your pictures, every other woman needs to throw away her little black dress i.e. “no more phone calls, we have a winner” πŸ™‚


  8. Type Writer ~ Thank you for the correction! I knew that MCC most likely didn’t write it but was truthfully too lazy to google who did. In a strange, semantic kind of way, I gave her credit for singing the tune so that we could all hear the words. But that Mark Knopfler is one talented guy and absolutely deserves the credit. Thanks for that, and for your kind comments. I figure I’d better enjoy every good photo opportunity I have left since it’s all downhill from here! lol! (No, I don’t have a birthday coming up or anything!) πŸ˜‰


  9. Downhill, huh? Must be a helluva mountain πŸ™‚

    Mark Knopfler wrote that song for Dire Straits’ album “On Every Street”, which he recorded after his solo country project, the Notting Hillbillies. So a number of the songs on that album had a country influence, a fact that did not escape Nashville’s attention, as several country artists covered songs from that album… Depending on how much of a fan you are of country music, you might recognize some of the song titles…

    TW


  10. TW ~ You are far too kind. If it gets better than 37, I’m going to be surprised. Of course, I thought that at 32 and with these most recent photos I’m tempted to believe that I may actually *have* gone a bit uphill. Vanity — such a trick! But thank you.

    And while I don’t know the Notting Hillbillies CD (and I thought I was a moderate country fan at that), I did enjoy googling Knopfler and reading that he had done the Princess Bride soundtrack. I’m a big fan.


  11. > TW ~ You are far too kind.

    It isn’t just kindness if it’s true πŸ™‚

    > Of course, I thought that at 32 and with these most recent photos I’m tempted to believe that I may actually *have* gone a bit uphill.

    Well, I don’t know which direction you’re going in, but right now the view’s pretty good from here…

    > And while I don’t know the Notting Hillbillies CD (and I thought I was a moderate country fan at that),

    Well, it probably didn’t make country music’s radar, since it was the side project of an English rock musician (the album title references the London neighbourhood featured in the Hugh Grant/Julia Roberts movie) But Nashville got interested once they saw that he was continuing to write country songs, and now that he makes albums with Emmylou Harris, he’s pretty established in their eyes…

    >I did enjoy googling Knopfler and reading that he had done the Princess Bride soundtrack. I’m a big fan.

    “As… you… wiiishhhh!!!” πŸ™‚ Mark Knopfler was on quite the roll at the time that soundtrack came out; Dire Straits had just released their “Brothers In Arms” album (the one with “Money For Nothing”), and it became the all-time best-selling album in Britain…

    Probably more music info than you ever wanted πŸ™‚

    TW


  12. Thanks, TW. I love music *and* trivia, so it’s all good! πŸ˜‰



Leave a Reply

