h1

Random Saturday Ramblings

June 7, 2008

Things I have learned this last week:

Gas prices are way too high!

A person does not need to keep his/her refrigerator in the kitchen to be happy. In fact, said person should just be grateful that he/she has a refrigerator!

Weeds do not kill themselves.

No sleep = getting sick (I knew this one already, but I was reminded of it with force)

All’s Well that Ends Well
is not particularly worth watching

But wine helps.

And bread.

Honesty is always the best policy.

But being honest does not mean that we have to be honest to the point of being brutal.

The sandwich technique helps with this. (You’re wonderful. I don’t want to see you again. But you’re wonderful.)

Be careful what you wish for, you just might get it.

Most of us can’t dictate what our heart does or doesn’t feel.

Life is filled with possibility.

Children are precious.

Remember, as Miguel Ruiz taught, other people’s choices, actions and speech aren’t about us — they’re about them.

Shit happens sometimes.

Most shit can be dealt with.

That’s life.

The end. (This week at least.)

14 comments

  1. I like that sandwich technique – and must keep in mind Miguel Ruiz’s wise words.


  2. Many truths there. I’ve been working on that sandwich thing myself this week And, yeah – the heart wants what it wants. And doesn’t want what it desn’t want. What can you do?


  3. I prefer to work on a tuna salad sandwich myself. Sub or whole wheat bread, it doesn’t matter… Maybe even a melt, now you’re talking… Wait, you don’t mean that kind of sandwich?

    TW


  4. You are now wondrous wise my darling and I can attest to your wisdom mainly because I agree with every word you wrote. Tell me more about the sandwich, however, because I have a very fertile imagination for imagery and I didn’t want it to go where it wasn’t wanted.


  5. I’m so sorry you’ve been sick… I was wondering where you were!

    You had a lot of great education of late!


  6. I sat behind you in that hard knocks class. Remember me? quit learnin yer lessons and go out to play!

    I once learned from a monkey at the zoo that shit happens, then you fling it. 🙂


  7. Glad you are looking at life like a lesson. It could be a lot of fun to look at it as recess.


  8. Beth ~ That agreement he taught has probably been one of the things that has helped me most in dealing with people these last couple of years. I could just kiss him for it!

    Citizen ~ It’s crazy, but even when the sandwich technique is being *used* on me, and I know *exactly* what’s going on — it still helps. Nuts.

    TW ~ Yum. I do so love a good sandwich. Do you like yours with American cheese? 😉 xoxoxo

    Ian ~ God, I love you. (And not just because you can turn everything into a sexual reference, though that’s pretty lovely, too.) {{{{{HUGS}}}}}

    Reese ~ Thank you, hon. It’s my own damn fault for not getting enough sleep. I’m off to home to sleep right now so will hopefully catch up a bit! Hope you’re doing well, honey. Sorry to be such a horrible blog friend of late.

    Say It ~ How do I love you? Let me count the ways! Your perspective is so, so fabulous, dahling. As are YOU!

    Seventh Sister ~ You always know just what to say to get me nodding my head “yes.” Thank you for that!


  9. > TW ~ Yum. I do so love a good sandwich. Do you like yours with American cheese?

    I’m more of a cheddar, Swiss or Monterey Jack person, but that just means more American cheese for you, right?

    > xoxoxo

    Awww, I just got kissed over the Internet — cool… Hey, did you ever see my comment on your Little Black Dress photo? Just wondering 🙂

    TW


  10. Hi TW! I don’t know that I did. I’ll have to go check. And, I do so love American cheese. Thanks for being so thoughtful! lol!


  11. I really love your breakup sandwich. It reminds me of the way Southern women can say the most terrible things about each other with impunity as long as they end with “bless her heart.”


  12. Oh, god. I’m Southern, too! Shit. And here I thought I was just channeling my inner Jewess.


  13. On behalf of the straight-male blogosphere community, let me just say that you’re the finest Jewess in all the land (That’s a modification of a line John Stewart uttered in his old show on MTV, but it seems appropriate here :))

    TW


  14. TW ~ Thank you. 😉



Leave a Reply

