h1

I’m not dead yet

June 12, 2008

“But I don’t want to go on the cart!” (And please say this with your best Monty Python British accent or it will lose all its punch, I promise you!)

Thanks for your patience with this blog while its author is out living it up. Who knew that dancing shoes could get so much use in a few short weeks?! Oh, you did? Well, why didn’t you tell me, Sweet One?!

My homework assignment for you all while I’m off living my life out loud is:

Find something you love (or someone), something or someone you really, really love and go do it. I mean him. Or her. Oh, you get my drift!

Life is short, y’all. No one is going to sit around at your funeral talking about all the things you didn’t do. Go make a life. Live it. Live it outloud.

There now. I feel better.

A thousand hugs ’til I return,

Ang

14 comments

  1. Good advice. And don’t worry about all of us – we’ll still be here to read about the parts of your life you choose to let us in on, when you need a break from dancing πŸ™‚


  2. Back at ya!


  3. Bring out yer dead!

    And amen.


  4. But the dead don’t dance…

    TW


  5. Lonie ~ Thank you, my friend. I’m a bit tired, but now I’m sleeping to catch up. Well, I’m not sleeping at the *moment* but you understand. Hope you’re doing well!

    Ian ~ {{{{{{{{{{{HUGS}}}}}}}}}}}}}

    Citizen ~ You rock. I could sit and quote that movie all day. When I’m not dancing, of course.

    TW ~ Which is precisely how I know I’m not dead yet. πŸ˜‰ lol!


  6. What’s your favourite dance music? For me, it’s ’80s New Wave (New Order, Depeche, The Cure)… That might date myself, but it’s still fun to dance to whenever I can find a good retro night (like at the Independent Bar in Orlando)

    TW


  7. TW ~ Disco! Definitely. I love good R&B for a slow dance, though.


  8. In Jamaica in the ’70s, the three most popular foreign artists were The Bee Gees, Donna Summer and ABBA, and I liked them all. (Yeah, I said it πŸ™‚ )

    I love good R&B for a slow dance, though.

    If you tell me that you’re talking about “old school” R&B here (i.e. Earth, Wind and Fire, Chaka Khan), you’ll have won a special place in my heart πŸ™‚

    TW


  9. Well, TW, count me in then. I was thinking The Stylistics, but love the ones you mentioned, too.


  10. “Betcha By Golly Wow”, Angela, “You’re My Everything” πŸ™‚ If you ever saw that movie “Jackie Brown” I bet you were grooving on them featuring “Didn’t I Blow Your Mind This Time” by The Delfonics…

    TW


  11. TW ~ Yep, you’re my long-lost brother, my friend. The two you mention in the beginning are two of my all-time favorites! I’ll have to check out “Jackie Brown.” Thanks for the recommendation!


  12. Growing up in Jamaica in the ’70s meant that the soundtrack to life had a lot of soul in it… “Jackie Brown” isn’t the best of Tarantino’s work (of the ones I’ve seen, I like “Pulp Fiction” and “Kill Bill Vol. 2” the best), but it did revive the career of blaxploitation star Pam Grier, and veteran character actor Robert Forster got an Oscar nomination out of it (I think mostly because of the scene where he checks out Jackie Brown as she walks out of jail :))

    TW
    p.s. Did you ever hear Prince’s version of “Betcha By Golly Wow”? It’s very faithful to the original…

    p.p.s. I listened to “Didn’t I Blow Your Mind” for years before I realized that “blow your mind” wasn’t a good thing in the context of this song. Was I the only clueless one about that?


  13. TW ~ Thanks for the recommendation. I love Prince, so I’ll have to go google it. And no, you’re definitely not the only one. There are all kinds of lyrics that have apparently gone right over my head. I’d like to think that it means that I’m not *too* smarmy. lol!


  14. TW ~ Thanks for the recommendation. I love Prince, so I’ll have to go google it.

    It’s from his album “Emancipation”, if I’m not mistaken… It came out in the mid-’90s…

    And no, you’re definitely not the only one. There are all kinds of lyrics that have apparently gone right over my head. I’d like to think that it means that I’m not *too* smarmy. lol!

    I’m always embarassed by that since I am a lyricist. But I guess that means I’m like everybody else and I hear the music first πŸ™‚

    TW



Leave a Reply

