h1

On Success

July 18, 2008

With my thanks to Ralph Waldo Emerson and anyone who has ever reprinted this. A noble goal, don’t you think?

“To laugh often and much; to win the respect of intelligent people and affection of children; to earn the appreciation of honest critics and endure the betrayal of false friends; to appreciate beauty; to find the best in others; to leave the world a bit better whether by a healthy child, a garden patch or a redeemed social condition; to know even one life has breathed easier because you have lived. This is to have succeeded.”

6 comments

  1. You’re as deep as you are beautiful, Ange:)… Thanks for the inspiring quote; have a good weekend…

    TW


  2. Saw this quotation on another blog the other day – love it. So simple but inspiring.


  3. At some point I realized I had no drive for the ususal dreams – being wealthy or famous or the “best” in my field. I want the things that really make me feel rich – to be a decent parent, a trusted friend, to help the world in some small way. RWE had it right.


  4. As is probably predictable, I agree with Citizen on this. Any richness in my life is because of the people and experiences I’ve had with them. It’s about purpose.


  5. Works for me. Actually (and this doesn’t surprise me) you have printed one of my favorite little treatises. How are you these days?


  6. TW ~ Thank you. I’m glad you liked it!

    Beth ~ YAY!! It must be a note from the universe to you if you’re finding it multiple times. Do you think?

    Citizen ~ I’ve struggled with my “lack of ambition,” too. 😉 And I’ve always appreciated people like Emerson (and you) who say, “You know, this ‘American’ definition of success isn’t necessarily where it’s at.”

    Chani ~ Absolutely. I’m thankful for the reminders every time they find me.

    Ian ~ And it doesn’t surprise *me* that you love it. Such a wonderful group of people, don’t you think? I feel very blessed. Hope you’re doing well!



Leave a Reply

