h1

So this is what my life has come to

August 7, 2008

Never in a billion years did I dream that I’d be one of those people.

It’s 9:30 at night and I’m standing outside of the Chinese place talking on my cell phone waiting for the conversation to end so that I can go in and get take-out. I’m still dressed from work. In black.

If I were in New York hailing a taxi, then my life would absolutely be the antithesis of everything I dreamed it would be.

Do you know what my fortune said?

“If you want to know a man’s mind, ask him questions.”

Do you think the Fortune Cookie writers know that we’re all supposed to add “in bed” to the end of every fortune? Because, with this little tid bit, I figure that they must!

Note to self: If in need of a new career, pursue fortune-cookie writing as a viable option.

There may be a future here for me. Confucius say, “Very good, Grasshoppah.”

8 comments

  1. First, you have to ask a man who is willing to be honest. And some aren’t even in bed.


  2. We used to play a game in which we added ‘in bed’ to the end of virtually every statement.
    So, do men always tell the truth in bed — I think not, I think especially not, especially not a priori. After, maybe. Do women? Especially after?
    I’m sorry sweetie. You have me rambling with a gazillion thoughts. You do that to me.


  3. But the problem with “after”, Ian, as I’m sure you well know, is that most men just want to go to sleep after… Maybe Angela can get guys to stay up and talk with her afterwards, but I don’t know that that’s the norm πŸ™‚

    TW


  4. I live in fear of the day there is nothing in my fortune cookie.


  5. Citizen ~ A most excellent point. Perhaps we could also say, “especially in bed.”

    Ian ~ I’ll have to try that! The first part, not the second. πŸ™‚ And no, I’m sure that, as Lincoln supposedly said, there’s not a one of us who tells the truth all the time. It’s such a judgment call, isn’t it?

    TW ~ I’ll take the fifth on that one, my friend. πŸ˜‰

    Heart ~ Can you imagine?! *Shudder*


  6. Angela,

    You’re no fun πŸ™‚

    TW


  7. TW ~ I know! Sorry! πŸ˜‰


  8. […] I got a call at work today from a woman who wanted to talk to me about “fortune cookie” advertising. I think it might be kismet. […]



Leave a Reply

